At the Gates announce their return with ‘The Nightmare of Being’

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on April 1, 2021

The album has just been announced and is already one of the most anticipated releases of 2021

Swedish metal juggernaut At The Gates made it no secret that they were cooking up something. The updates from the band made the eventual announcement of an album inevitable. Now, the speculation has officially been put to bed with the unveiling of ‘The Nightmare of Being’ set to arrive July 2nd on Century Media Records.

The band has enlisted the mixing and mastering skill of Jens Bogren who worked with At The Gates on their triumphant return in At War With Reality. Compartmentalizing the recording process and track drums at Studio Gröndal with Jens Bogren, guitars and bass with Andy La Rocque at Sonic Train Studio and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg, the amalgam is still months away and already one of the most anticipated releases of the 2021 calendar year.

At The Gates vocalist Tomas Lindberg Redant went into the concept at the core of the album. “The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative.”

As for the band’s sonic evolution, there is an assurance that this will be a signature At The Gates record, just bolstered to be one of the best they have ever written. Lindberg Redant adds, “It still sounds like AT THE GATES, 100 percent. It is just more of everything.”

Pre-orders for ‘The Nightmare of Being’ from At The Gates will begin April 30th. Check the tracklist and artwork developed by artist Eva Nahon below.

The Nightmare Of Being Tracklist:
1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason