At The Gates share the first single from ‘The Nightmare of Being’ with the massive “Spectre of Extinction”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on April 30, 2021

Watch the Patric Ullaeus-directed visual for the band’s epic opening track that features a guest spot from King Diamond’s Andy La Rocque on lead guitar.

Swedish metal trailblazers At the Gates have unveiled the fist offering from their high anticipated The Nightmare Of Being due out July 2nd via Century Media Records.

The introductory single in “Spectre of Extinction” asserts an epic opening and enlists a special guest in the role of lead guitar with King Diamond guitarist Andy La Rocque assuming the role of the axe.

Tomas Lindberg Redant spoke of the release, “It is always very hard to choose which song to release to the public first, especially with this album having so many layers and textures. We did feel, however, that this, the opening track of the record, represented the overall feel of the album. It has the musical depths that you would expect from an AT THE GATES track, and still carries that intensity and urgency that we have always tried to get across with our music.

Tapping director Patric Ullaeus to carry out the visual translation of the track, the synergy between the two creative forces comes together seamlessly for the first music video of the project. Redant affirms the partnership, “For the video, it was wonderful to be able to continue the work with the mighty Patric Ullaeus, as he understands our vision with the music and is willing to go all the way to portray the song’s inner dimensions. I think he did that excellently with this one and I’m very proud of the result. The lyrics deal with humanity’s will and how that clashes with our consciousness, and our knowledge of our mortality. Enjoy!”

‘The Nightmare of Being’ serves as the follow up to At The Gates 2018 LP, To Drink from the Night Itself. As the seventh studio full length from the Swedish melodic death metal horde, the album underscores the band’s enduring domination within the genre resulting from their near three decade tenure. As one of the most anticipated genre releases of 2021, the first showing has served well in adding to the hype.

‘The Nightmare of Being’ from At The Gates arrives July 2nd via Century Media Records. Pre-order the album – HERE. Watch the music video for the opening track from the album in “Spectre of Extinction” below.

The Nightmare Of Being Tracklisting
1. Spectre of Extinction
2. The Paradox
3. The Nightmare of Being
4. Garden of Cyrus
5. Touched by the White Hands of Death
6. The Fall into Time
7. Cult of Salvation
8. The Abstract Enthroned
9. Cosmic Pessimism
10. Eternal Winter of Reason