New Flesh 11/10: Releases From Helmet, HourHouse, Sodom & More!

New Flesh 11/10: Releases From Helmet, HourHouse, Sodom & More!

- By Cori Westbrook

A healthy mix of new and old school ranging from thrash and death to nu-metal ad heavy alternative - check this week's essential releases corralled by our own Cori Westbrook.

From the high-energy thrills of thrash metal to the innovative fusion of nu metal, and the introspective depths of post-hardcore to the raw power of noise rock, this selection offers a rich tapestry of sounds.Whether you're a fan of the aggressive punch of blackened speed metal, the dark allure of death metal, or the catchy rhythms of alternative rock, there's something here that will resonate with everyone.

For all of our favorite new releases, both singles and albums, be sure to check out the official Knotfest New Flesh playlist.

Gama Bomb – Bats - Thrash

Gama Bomb's Bats is a thrilling rollercoaster of thrash metal with a twist. The album is a masterclass in combining high-energy riffing with a unique sense of humor, showcasing the band's ability to not take themselves too seriously while delivering killer music. Each track bursts with lively solos and catchy hooks, making it an addictive listen. The inclusion of The Egyptian Lover adds an unexpected and delightful layer to the album, proving Gama Bomb's innovative spirit in the metal scene.

Get your copy HERE.

Helmet – Left - Noise rock/grunge

Left by Helmet is a testament to the band's enduring legacy in the noise rock and grunge genres. The album features the trademark dissonant, staccato riffage that Helmet is known for, coupled with driving drum beats that create a powerful sonic experience. Page Hamilton's vocals and guitar work are as impactful as ever, carrying the listener through a journey of intense and raw musical expression. Each track offers a glimpse into the band's continued relevance and influence, making Left a must-listen for fans of the genre.

Get your copy HERE.

Hourhouse – Gold Tooth Guru - Nu Metal

Gold Tooth Guru is an explosive debut from Hourhouse, showcasing a brilliant fusion of hip hop, trap, and extreme metal. The album radiates energy and innovation, with tracks like "Swarm," "Lsd," and "Bodybag Musik" standing out as examples of the band's dynamic sound. The seamless integration of different styles creates a fresh and exciting listening experience, highlighting Hourhouse's potential as a groundbreaking force in the nu metal scene.

Get your copy HERE.

Locket – Superluminal - Alternative

Locket's Superluminal is a vibrant and engaging alt-rock album, brimming with catchy pop-rock tunes and emotive songwriting. The album starts on a high note, setting an ethereal and inviting atmosphere, then dives into a series of tracks that are both fun and introspective. Songs like "Rearview Memory" and "Tear Me To Pieces" are standout examples of the band's ability to craft memorable choruses and engaging melodies, making "Superluminal" a delightful listen from start to finish.

Get your copy HERE.

L.S. Dunes – Lost Songs: Lines And Shapes - Post-Hardcore

This album is a brilliant showcase of post-hardcore excellence. L.S. Dunes have created a collection of tracks that are both emotionally resonant and sonically powerful. The album features early, stripped-down versions of all Past Lives' 11 tracks., resulting in a thought-provoking fresh take on the album. The band's passion and talent shine through every note, making Lost Songs: Lines And Shapes a standout addition to the post-hardcore genre.

Get your copy HERE.

Sodom – 1982 EP - Thrash

The 1982 EP by Sodom is a throwback to the roots of thrash metal, delivering raw energy and uncompromising power. Each track is a nod to the genre's early days, filled with fast-paced riffs and relentless drumming. Sodom's ability to capture the essence of classic thrash while injecting their unique style makes this EP a thrilling listen for both long-time fans and newcomers to the genre.

Get your copy HERE.

Triumph Of Death – Resurrection Of The Flesh - Blackened Speed Metal

Resurrection Of The Flesh is an electrifying display of blackened speed metal mastery. Triumph Of Death have crafted an album that is both ferocious and atmospheric, blending blistering speed with dark, brooding undertones. The intricate guitar work and powerful vocals create a mesmerizing experience, marking this album as a significant contribution to the metal landscape.

Get your copy HERE

Vastum – Inward To Gethsemane - Death Metal

 Vastum's Inward To Gethsemane is a tour de force in the death metal genre. The album is an intense journey through dark and complex soundscapes, featuring brutal riffs, thunderous drumming, and guttural vocals. The band's skillful blending of aggression and melody makes for a captivating listening experience, solidifying Inward To Gethsemane as a landmark release in death metal.

Get your copy HERE.

Also out this week…

Acid Throne – Kingdom’s Death (Trepnation)
Aglo – Build Fear (Brilliant Emperor)
Autark – Emergent (Season Of Mist)
Bazooka Troopaz – Bombs, Babes And Bazookas (Self)
Calling Hours – Say Lewss (Revelation)
The Color Of Rain – Oceans Above (Void Wanderer)
Concrete Caveman – Feral (Strange Mono)
Dagtum – Revered Decadence (Malevolent Sound)
Death Magick – Demo MMXXIII EP (Dawnbreed)
Deorbit – Retrogradient (Self)
Dirty Mitts – Hands Off! EP (Self)
Dissona – Dreadfully Distinct EP (Earache)
Dreamwheel – Redeemer EP (Nefarious)
D’Virgilio, Morse & Jennings – Sophomore (InsideOut)
Empire Of Disease – Shadows In The Abyss (Xtreem)
Escalpo – Unnus (Thrash Out)
Ex Everything – Slow Change Will Pull Us Apart (Neurot)
Fallen Utopia – Ruin (Self)
The Fixer – Your Lie (Wormholedeath)
Hard Excess – The Nations Dust (Self)
Hence Confetti – Hence Confetti (Bird’s Robe)
Hinayana – Shatter And Fall (Napalm)
Holy Wars – Cult Classic EP (Pale Chord)
Horsewhip – Consume And Burn (Iodine)
Hugo’s Voyage – Inception (Frontiers)
Hypaethral – Hypaethral (Self)
Ignescent – Fight In Me (Frontiers)
Incendiary Device – Incendiary Device (Bridge Nine)
Jacknife Powerbombs – Mors Certa, Vita Incerta (Self)
Left Cross – Upon Desecrated Altars (Profound Lore)
Left Eye Perspective – Conundrum (Argonauta)
Lower 13 – Deception EP (Self)
Lune – The Change Around Us & The Change In You EP (Resist)
Mephorash – Krystl-AH (Shadow/Regain)
Metal Life Crisis – Theatre Of Fire (Sliptrick)
Michael Catton – Point Of No Return (Mighty)
MouthBreather – Self-Tape (Good Fight)
MTVoid – Matter’s Knot, Pt. 1 (Lobal Orning)
Night Crowned – Tales (Noble Demon)
Night Hag/Burial – Utterances From Below Split (Rotted Life)
Nur NH – Unbroken EP (Self)
Odd Crew – Dark Matters Part II (Drakkar)
Passage – Oblique (Self)
Plaguemace – Reptilian Warlords (Napalm)
Plague Rider – Intensities (Transcending Obscurity)
Proud Outsiders – Anything To Offer? (Epictronic)
Receiver – Whispers Of Lore (Gates Of Hell)
Returning – severance (Breath Sun Bone Blood)
Saver – From Ember And Rust (Pelagic)
ScarlataMusic – Rough And Tumble EP (Self)
Secret Sphere – Blackened Heartbeat (Frontiers)
Sherpa – Land Of Corals (Subsound)
Shylmagoghnar – Convergence (Napalm)
Silent Weapon – The Fear Of The Possibility Of Chaos EP (Blindsight)
Sleep In Motion – Existential (Self)
Tarja – Dark Christmas (earMusic)
Temple Balls – Avalanche (Frontiers)
Vantage Point – Against Myself (Triple B)
Verilehto – Kuoleman Siipien Havina (Inverse)
Weightless World – Sleepwalker (Inverse)
Welcome To Pleshiwar – Apostasy (Black Sunset/MDD)

Back to blog
1 of 3