The Fangoria Chainsaw Awards Announce Ceremony and Presenters for 2021

The Fangoria Chainsaw Awards Announce Ceremony and Presenters for 2021

- By Nicolás Delgadillo

Get the complete list of categories, nominees and presenters for the 2021 installment of the horror authority awards event.

Fangoria has been delivering the latest news, think pieces, interviews and reviews of all things horror since the late 70s - a remarkable feat for any kind of publication. After some ups and downs and new management after the adjustment period of having to find ways to stay afloat with the rise of the internet and digital media, Fangoria appears poised to be stronger than ever by not only relaunching the magazine itself, but also expanding into film, television, podcast, and gaming production. The future for horror fans is looking to be the best it's ever been thanks to publications like Fangoria keeping conversation and love for the genre flowing, as well as the ceaseless supply of new and interesting movies and series coming from artists all around the world.

Starting in the 90s, Fangoria launched their own unique awards ceremony, one that gives the horror and thriller genres the proper respect, attention and acclaim that they deserve. The Fangoria Chainsaw Awards have recognized films, filmmakers, and performances that are normally unjustly ignored at other awards ceremonies like the Oscars. Last year saw films like Midsommar and The Lighthouse take home the grand prizes, and actors like Lupita Nyong'o and Robert Pattinson win best actress and actor. This year's nominations include some remarkable and underrated work from the past year and will be premiering exclusively on Shudder, marking a return for the awards ceremony as a full televised event. Check out the official press release below as well as this year's nominations.

Shudder and FANGORIA announced today presenters at the 2021 FANGORIA Chainsaw Awards, premiering Sunday, April 18 at 8pm ET/5pm PT exclusively on Shudder, AMC Networks’ premium streaming service for horror, thriller and the supernatural. The ceremony, which recognizes outstanding achievement in horror film and television, will be hosted by actor and writer David Dastmalchian (Ant-Man and the Wasp) and feature Jamie Lee Curtis (Halloween), Keith David (The Thing), Gigi Saul Guerrero (director, Culture Shock), Issa Lopez (director, Tigers Are Not Afraid), Kevin Smith (Clerks), Tananarive Due (Horror Noire: A History of Black Horror), Blumhouse founder and CEO Jason Blum, James Jude Courtney (Halloween), Doug Jones (The Shape of Water) and drag artist and The Boulet Brothers’ Dragula season two winner Biqtch Puddin’ as presenters. This year’s nominated films include The Invisible Man, Freaky, The Dark and the Wicked, Host and Possessor as well as actors Vince Vaughn, Kathryn Newton, Clancy Brown and Elisabeth Moss.

“We’re thrilled to partner with our friends at FANGORIA, a horror institution, to present their annual Chainsaw Awards, televised for the first time in years. We hope to bring Shudder members and horror fans together for a vibrant celebration of the genre we love so much,” said Craig Engler, GM for Shudder.

“The Chainsaw Awards are an institution in horror, having existed in the magazine since 1992. Bringing them back as an actual event has been a dream, and airing them on Shudder is something we’ve been working toward since we resurrected the magazine,” said FANGORIA editor Phil Nobile Jr.

This year's ceremony will be filmed and hosted virtually with pre- and post-show on socials. The ceremony will premier exclusively on the “Shudder TV” feed – available only on Shudder’s TV and mobile apps and online at – airing simultaneously in the US, Canada, UK, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand, marking the first time the Chainsaw Awards have been televised globally. The ceremony will also be released via FANGORIA’s online and social platforms after the Shudder premiere.

Since 1992, the Chainsaw Awards have honored top achievements in the horror genre, with past recipients including Jonathan Demme, Sam Raimi, Robert Eggers, Toni Collette and George Romero.

The Chainsaw Awards are executive produced by Tara Ansley, Abhi Goel, Phil Nobile Jr. and produced by Armen Aghaeian and Rebekah McKendry.


Gretel & Hansel
The Hunt
The Invisible Man


Color Out of Space
The Dark and the Wicked
The Wolf of Snow Hollow


Come to Daddy
Dead Dicks
Extra Ordinary
Sea Fever


Anything For Jackson
The Beach House
His House
The Mortuary Collection


Blood Quantum
La Llorona


The Haunting of Bly Manor
Lovecraft Country
What We Do in the Shadows


Jim Cummings - The Wolf of Snow Hollow
Sopé Dìrísù - His House
Jeremy Gardner - After Midnight
Heston Horwin - Dead Dicks
Marin Ireland - The Dark and the Wicked
Carla Juri - Amulet
Tamara Lawrance - Kindred
Emily Mortimer - Relic
Wunmi Mosaku - His House
Elisabeth Moss - The Invisible Man
Andrea Riseborough - Possessor
Alec Secareanu - Amulet
Vince Vaughn - Freaky


Xander Berkeley - The Dark and the Wicked
Clancy Brown - The Mortuary Collection
Will Forte - Extra Ordinary
Brea Grant - After Midnight
Udo Kier - Bacurau
Alice Krige - Gretel & Hansel
Stephen McHattie - Come to Daddy
Robyn Nevin - Relic
Julie Oliver-Touchstone - The Dark and the Wicked
Misha Osherovich - Freaky
Vanessa Williams - Bad Hair


Bryan Bertino - The Dark and the Wicked
Justin G. Dyck - Anything for Jackson
Romola Garai - Amulet
Natalie Erika James - Relic
Remi Weekes - His House
Leigh Whannell - The Invisible Man


Kleber Mendonça Filho & Juliano Dornelles - Bacurau
Toby Harvard - Come to Daddy
Michael Kennedy & Christopher Landon - Freaky
Remi Weekes - His House
Leigh Whannell - The Invisible Man


Roque Baños - His House
Rob - Gretel & Hansel
Tom Schraeder - The Dark and the Wicked
Jim Williams - Possessor
Christopher Young & Lustmord - The Empty Man


Alterian Studios - Freaky
Amalgamated Dynamics - The Mortuary Collection
Liz Byrne - Gretel & Hansel
Paul Jones - Random Acts of Violence
Dan Martin - Possessor


Jim Henson Studio - Come Play
David Martí & Montse Ribé, - His House
Dan Martin - Color Out of Space
Erik Porn - The Wretched
Cliff Wallace - Amulet


Blood & Flesh: The Reel Life and Ghastly Death of Al Adamson
The Boulet Brothers' Dragula: Resurrection
Cursed Films
The Last Drive-in With Joe Bob Briggs
Leap of Faith: William Friedkin on The Exorcist
Scream, Queen! My Nightmare on Elm Street

Who will win the coveted awards this year? It's tough to say. Be sure to follow Knotfest's continued coverage on the ceremony and remember to tune in April 18th to see it all go down.

Back to blog
1 of 3