- By Ramon Gonzales

‘Common Suffering’ arrives via Metal Blade Records at the end of this month.

‘Common Suffering’ arrives via Metal Blade Records at the end of this month.

Illinois hardcore practitioners Harm’s Way continue their dominant march towards the September 29th release of their next iteration, Common Suffering. Recruiting accomplished producer Will Yip, who has churned out modern classics with Turnstile and Code Orange, the tandem come together for what can be framed as the most complete version of Harm’s Way yet, with the latest serving of the project as evidence.

For the latest preview, Harm’s Way linked with Kristina Esfandiari, known better as King Woman, for a stylistic departure that only showcases the band’s range, but their willingness to challenge the conventions of hardcore. Weaponizing King Woman’s haunting, ethereal vocals, the combination makes for a hellacious result, one that makes for a lasting impression of full range heft.

Speaking of the single, the band shared, “‘Undertow’ looks at the cycle of life and death, and one’s process of coming to a space of acceptance with the latter.  While we can argue that self-preservation is inherently human, finding peace in death and dying brings us that much closer to humility and our shared humanity.” 

The ten track manifesto wades through the turbulence of the last three years with the entries on the album traversing weighty thematic material including personal struggles with mental health, fractured relationships, the climate of political division and continued corruption of power during one of the most unstable, vulnerable times in history.

“We really tried not to settle on parts,” explained Harm’s Way guitarist Nick Gauthier. “Sometimes a direction that we could have taken in a song felt too obvious… We would just troubleshoot that until we felt creatively satisfied with the direction we were taking.”

Coinciding with the album release, Harm’s Way have also announced a headlining tour with Fleshwater, Ingrown, and Jivebomb this fall, their first in four years. The tour kicks off October 18th in Milwaukee, Wisconsin and wraps on November 16th in Kansas City, Missouri. Dates and cities for the run are listed below.

Get tickets – HERE

Common Suffering Track Listing:

  1. Silent Wolf
  2. Denial
  3. Hollow Cry
  4. Devour
  5. Undertow
  6. Heaven’s Call
  7. Cyanide
  8. Terrorizer
  9. Sadist Guilt
  10. Wanderer
Back to blog
1 of 3