Evile Get Groovy On New Single "Reap What You Sow"

Evile Get Groovy On New Single "Reap What You Sow"

- By Corinne Westbrook

The thrash vets showcase their range on the second preview of the forthcoming full length, 'The Unknown'.

UK thrashers Evile are taking things in a new, more groovy direction with their new single "Reap What You Sow" released today. The new album from the heavy outfit is embracing stylistic changes throughout and sets out to showcase the members' expansive musical talents beyond the thrash.


Frontman OL Drake commented: “The second single from The Unknown is "Reap What You Sow” - a more up-tempo riff-fest. Without wanting to share too much about this track's personal meaning, this song is about hypocrisy; someone saying not to do something, then they do it themselves. I gave Ingo, the lyric video director, no direction other than the lyrics, so the video is his own interpretation of the song. There's a down-picking riff challenge in the middle section of the song. Enjoy!”

Evile are taking a heavier approach to the new album, The Unknown, embracing melodic vocals, and deep lyrical themes. "We're really excited to start revealing the next page in the Evile chapter", says frontman OL Drake on the new album. "We've taken a completely different approach on this album and I looked inward for inspiration; I've opened myself up like I never thought I would. We've always been at 500mph, like on the previous album (Hell Unleashed) and this time around we felt we wanted to try the polar opposite - some slower-than-we've-ever-done tempos with more melodic vocal hooks, and give Adam some freedom on the leads/writing. I've been working on my vocals since diving in the deep end in 2021, and we've worked hard for two years on this, so I'm excited for everyone to hear the fruits of our labour. We're really proud of what we've all accomplished with this album. This is the one I hope can catapult us to more ears and places we haven't been before to play for people who are constantly asking us to play in their area."

The Unknown was recorded by Tim Vincent at Longwave Studios, Cardiff UK, and was produced, mixed and mastered by Chris Clancy at the same Longwave Studios.

The Unknown is due out July 14th via Napalm Records. Pre-orders are available HERE.

  1. The Unknown
  2. The Mask We Wear
  3. Monolith
  4. When Mortal Coils Shed
  5. Sleepless Eyes
  6. Out of Sight
  7. At Mirror's Speech
  8. Reap What You Sow
  9. Beginning of the End
  10. Balance of Time

Evile have also announced a headline UK tour, dates are as follows:

Oct 13: The Arch, Brighton
Oct 14: Arts Centre, Colchester
Nov 11: The Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes
Nov 10: The Bread Shed, Manchester
Nov 11: Devils Dog, Birmingham
Nov 17: La Belle Angele, Edinburgh
Nov 18: Corporation, Sheffield
Nov 12: The Hairy Dog, Derby
Nov 12: The Bunkhouse, Swansea
Nov 12: Suburbia, Southampton
Nov 12: New Cross Inn, London

More on Knotfest...

Stay in the know – join Knotfest for relevant news, exclusive content, interviews, and more.

Upgrade to Knotfest Premium for early ticket access to the biggest shows, in studio footage from Slipknot, exclusive performances, 10% off merch and much more!

Back to blog
1 of 3