Future Static Drops Mesmerizing New Track "The Hourglass"

Future Static Drops Mesmerizing New Track "The Hourglass"

- By Corinne Westbrook

The single previews the band's forthcoming debut album, 'Liminality', which lands next month.

Melbourne-based band Future Static has just released their newest track "The Hourglass", a compelling preview of what fans can expect from their debut album Liminality, scheduled for release on 24th of November via Wild Thing Records.

"The Hourglass" showcases Future Static's distinctive layers of prog influences. The song kicks off with forceful drum fills, smoothly transitioning into a powerful combination of hefty guitars and raw screams. Meticulously crafted riffs, a memorable chorus, and an evocative atmosphere blend seamlessly in this track. Originally bearing the name "Ruin//Reclaim", the song undergoes a transformation from an initial destructive energy to a more serene sound after its bridge.

Discussing the inspiration behind the song, vocalist Amariah Cook shared, "I decided to lean on the metaphor: ‘digging yourself into a hole’ for this song. I wanted to describe the feeling when you unintentionally utter hurtful words and, instead of letting it go, you compound the mistake with more misinterpreted words." She added that the verses, mainly penned by her, tackle this theme broadly, pooling various situations brought about by this recurring behavior. "Kira masterfully wrote the chorus lyrics and melody, narrating a specific incident of such ‘verbal vomiting’,” Cook explained.

An accompanying music video for "The Hourglass", orchestrated by the talented Colin Jeffs, visually represents the aforementioned metaphor, translating it into the act of digging one's own grave. Within this narrative, clips featuring the song's symbolic hourglass can be seen, its sand relentlessly trickling down.

This single's reveal comes on the heels of Future Static's debut international tour where they supported instrumental prog maestros, The Omnific, across Europe and the UK.

Liminality is a harmonious blend of metalcore, progressive metal, alternative rock, and pop nuances. It boasts notable singles like "Roach Queen", the vibrant "Plated Gold" with guest vocals from Sean Harmanis of Make Them Suffer, as well as popular previous releases "Waves" and "Venenosa". The album underscores the group's captivating lead vocal duo: the dynamic Kira Neil and the enigmatic Amariah Cook, particularly evident in songs like "The Hourglass" and the catchy "Chemical Lobotomy".

The title Liminality perfectly encapsulates the essence of the album. It is a reflection of the feeling of limbo and void, aptly mirroring the band's sentiments during the strict Melbourne lockdowns. Having been shaped by these trying times, the album morphed into their most collective creation yet, embodying every band member's distinctive musical touch in a united yet varied artistic declaration.

Liminality will be available on November 24th via Wild Things Records. Pre-orders are available HERE

01. Chemical Lobotomy
02. Venenosa
03. Roach Queen
04. Icarus
05. …And The Walls That Were Built
06. Waves
07. Iliad [Featuring Luke Taylor of Heartline]
08. Will I?
09. The Hourglass
10. Halfway Across The World
11. Plated Gold [Featuring Sean Harmanis of Make Them Suffer]
12. The Embers

Back to blog
1 of 3