Horror Legend John Carpenter Announces New Album, 'Lost Themes IV: Noir'

Horror Legend John Carpenter Announces New Album, 'Lost Themes IV: Noir'

- By Ramon Gonzales

See the mini-film music video for "My Name Is Death" directed by Ambar Navarro, starring Natalie Mering (Weyes Blood), Staz Lindes (The Paranoyds) and Misha Lindes (SadGirl).

Horror icon and multi-hyphenate John Carpenter has confirmed the May 3rd release of his latest musical collaboration with Cody Carpenter and Daniel Davies. Lost Themes IV: Noir marks the fourth installment in Carpenter's series of full length studio releases of non-film music - adding to his artistic breadth and unmatched creative legacy. 

The album bookends the last decade of collaborative success of the trio, successfully launching the Lost Themes series in addition their vast body of work of music for the big screen - helming scores for the likes of David Gordon Green’s trilogy of Halloween reboots among many others. 

Introducing the latest in the Lost Themes series, the Carpenters along with Davies have released a hauntingly cinematic visual for the post-punk influenced first single, "My Name Is Death". The short noir film music video is directed by Ambar Navarro and stars Natalie Mering of Weyes Blood, Staz Lindes of The Paranoyds and Misha Lindes of SadGirl. 

“Noir is a uniquely American genre born in post-war cinema,” states Carpenter. “We grew up loving Noir and were influenced by it for this new album. The video celebrates this style and our new song, My Name is Death.”

Speaking to the creative vision of the album, Daniel Davies explained how the the direction of Lost Themes: Noir first came into focus. Sandy [King, John’s wife and producer] had given John a book for Christmas, of pictures from noir films, all stills from that era. I was looking through it, and I thought, ‘I like that imagery, and what those titles make me think of. What if we loosely based it around that? What if the titles were of some of John’s favorite noir films?’”

Merging the classic, orchestral quality of the soundtrack of timeless noir with modernization in the way of synth, guitar and compositional dynamics, Davies explains how their noir DNA of the project allowed the trio build from a central focus. “Some of the music is heavy guitar riffs, which is not in old noir films,” Davies said. “But somehow, it’s connected in an emotional way.”

Lost Themes: Noir arrives May 3rd via Sacred Bones Records. Pre-order the album - HERE


Lost Themes IV: Noir track list


1. My Name is Death 

2. Machine Fear

3. Last Rites

4. The Burning Door

5. He Walks By Night

6. Beyond The Gallows

7. Kiss The Blood Off My Fingers

8. Guillotine

9. The Demon’s Shadow

10. Shadows Have A Thousand Eyes

Back to blog
1 of 3