Japanese Metal Band RYUJIN Releases Debut Samurai Ballad "Saigo No Hoshi"

Japanese Metal Band RYUJIN Releases Debut Samurai Ballad "Saigo No Hoshi"

- By Cori Westbrook

The track is bolstered by contributions from Matthew Kiichi Heafy from Trivium and a cello performance of Mukai Wataru from the Kansai Philharmonic Orchestra. 

A stunning fusion of traditional and modern sounds, Japanese metal band Ryujin has released their first-ever ballad titled "Saigo No Hoshi," accompanied by a new music video. This release is a part of their upcoming self-titled album, scheduled to drop this Friday, January 12th, via Napalm Records.

"Saigo No Hoshi" stands out for its emotive chorus, a rock-opera-worthy guitar solo, and traditional Japanese instrumentation. The track is further elevated by the backing vocals of Matthew Kiichi Heafy from Trivium, and the cello performance of Mukai Wataru from the Kansai Philharmonic Orchestra. RYUJIN's frontman, Ryoji Shinomoto, expressed the song's significance, noting its reflection on current global conflicts and its tribute to family and peace.

The upcoming album, produced by Matthew Kiichi Heafy and mixed/mastered by Mark Lewis, promises a unique blend of heavy metal. It features various guest appearances, including Heafy's vocals and conducting, and Mukai Wataru's cello contributions. RYUJIN's tracks, inspired by the Ainu language of Hokkaido, Japanese paintings, and idioms, incorporate Shamisen, Dragon Flute, Erhu, and Taiko, creating a sound that resonates with ancient orchestral Gagaku and modern anime themes.

The album kicks off with the instrumental track “Hajimari” and takes listeners on a journey through various genres, including thrash, death metal, power metal, and more. It features songs like the power metal-infused “Raijin & Fujin,” the melodic “The Rainbow Song,” and the adventurous “Dragon, Fly Free.” The album also explores darker themes in “Gekirin,” and concludes with the Japanese-language tracks “Saigo No Hoshi,” “Ryujin,” and a cover of the popular anime theme “Guren No Yumiya” from Attack On Titan.

With its unique blend of styles and cultural influences, RYUJIN's self-titled album is poised to make a significant impact on the metal music scene.

Ryujin will be released on January 12th. Pre-orders are available HERE.

Track List:

  1. Hajimari
  2. Gekokujo
  3. Dragon, Fly Free
  4. Raijin & Fujin (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  5. The Rainbow Song (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  6. Kunnecup (Feat. Mukai Wataru)
  7. Scream of the Dragon
  8. Gekirin
  9. Saigo No Hoshi
  10. Ryujin
  11. Guren No Yumiya (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  12. Saigo No Hoshi (Feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
Back to blog
1 of 3