Long Island hardcore crew Pain of Truth recruit Steve Buhl of 200 Stab Wounds for new slobberknocker, "Actin' Up"

Long Island hardcore crew Pain of Truth recruit Steve Buhl of 200 Stab Wounds for new slobberknocker, "Actin' Up"

- By Ramon Gonzales

The single heralds the debut full length, 'Not Through Blood' which features an all-star roster of special guests from Trapped Under Ice, Mindforce, Terror, Incendiary and more.

Having already built a teflon reputation among those in the know with their 2020 EP, No Blame…Just Facts, and their 2021 split with Age Of Apocalypse, Long Island hardcore purveyors Pain of Truth have confirmed their debut full length, Not Through Blood, for a September release via DAZE.

The effort sources an all-star assembly of special guests contributors in true hardcore fashion, pooling submissions from Freddy Cricien of Madball, Scott Vogel of Terror, Justice Tripp of Trapped Under Ice, Vinnie Caruana of The Movielife, Jay Peta of Mindforce, and Brendan Garrone of Incendiary just to name a few.

To introduce the feature length debut, Pain fo Truth tap into their death metal sensibilities by enlisting Steve Buhl of 200 Stab Wounds for the confrontational first cut, "Actin' Up".


Led by frontman Michael Smith working in tandem with the guttural growl of Buhl, the track takes on the poser - exposing people that put up a front to project something they aren't. Meaty guitars, pummeling percussion and a visceral, vocal 'fuck-you' properly introduce the album.

Ahead of the band's debut release, Pain of Truth wil begin a European tour on June 22nd along with No Pressure, Sunami, Restraining Order, and C4. The run will include appearances at Outbreak Fest, Jera On Air, and Ieper Fest just to name a few.

Pain of Truth will also perform at Sound and Fury in Los Angeles in July as well as Philly’s This Is Hardcore in August - adding to the anticipation of their full length release. See a current list of confirmed tour dates below.

Not Through Blood drops September 8th via DAZE. Order the album - HERE

Not Through Blood Tracklist:

1. Lifeless On The Ground feat Anthony Didio and Jon Lhaubouet (vein.fm)

2. In Your Heart feat Scott Vogel (Terror)

3. Actin' Up feat Steve Buhl (200 Stab Wounds)

4. You and Me feat Freddy Cricien (Madball)

5. This Falls On You feat Shane Moran (Bad Seed / Title Fight)

6. Too Late feat Justice Tripp (Trapped Under Ice / Angel Du$t)

7. Pickin' at Scraps feat Jay Peta (Mindforce) and Austin Sparkman (Buried Dreams / Haywire)

8. Out Of Our Hands feat Vinnie Caruana (The Movielife / I Am The Avalanche)

9. Same Old Story (Instrumental)

10. Under My Skin feat Josiah Hoeflinger (Criminal Instinct)

11. Not Through Blood feat Brendan Garrone (Incendiary) and Corin (Last Wishes)

Tour Dates:

w/ No Pressure, Sunami, Restraining Order, C4

6/22 - London UK @ Oslo

6/23 - Manchester UK @ Outbreak Fest

6/24 - Ysselstein NL @ Jera On Air

6/25 - Hamburg DE @ Booze Cruise

6/26 - Karlsruhe DE @ Stadtmitte

6/27 - Zurich CH @ Dynamo

6/28 - Padova IT @ Sherwood Festival

6/29 - Milan IT @ Legend Club

6/30 - Munchen DE @ Desi

7/1 - Germany @ TBA

7/2 - Vienna AT @ Arena

7/3 - Budapest HU @ Durer Kert

7/4 - Warsaw PL @ Hydrozagadka

7/5 - Berlin DE @ Cassiopeia

7/6 - Erfurt DE @ Veb Kultur

7/7 - Dresden DE @ Chemiefabrik

7/8 - Mönchengladbach DE @ Projekt 42

7/9 - Ypres BE @ Ieper Fest

7/29 - 7/30 - Los Angeles CA @ Sound and Fury Fest

8/6 - Philadelphia PA @ This Is Hardcore Fest

Back to blog
1 of 3