New Flesh 12/15: Releases From Evergrey, (hed) P.E., Therion and more!

New Flesh 12/15: Releases From Evergrey, (hed) P.E., Therion and more!

- By Cori Westbrook

Columnist Cori Westbrook corrals the latest albums in heavy music to bring you the best from g-punk, to symphonic black metal to technical death metal and beyond.

This week's album roundup takes us on a diverse musical journey, from the raw intensity of blackened doom and the intricate layers of progressive metal, to the fusion of rap metal's vigor and the cosmic themes of blackened thrash. Immerse yourself in this eclectic mix.

For all of our favorite new releases, both singles and albums, be sure to check out the official Knotfest New Flesh playlist.

Crust – Dissolution - Blackened Doom (Avantgarde)

Dissolution by Crust offers a hauntingly beautiful journey into the depths of blackened doom. The album masterfully blends oppressive doom riffs with the raw intensity of black metal, all while maintaining a sense of avant-garde unpredictability. It's a standout album that thrives on its ability to create a dense, atmospheric soundscape that's both dark and enchantingly melodic.

Get your copy HERE.

Evergrey – From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits - Progressive/Power Metal (Napalm)


Evergrey's "From Dark Discoveries To Heartless Portraits" showcases the band's exceptional skill in weaving complex musical structures with emotionally charged lyrics. The collection from Evergrey, featuring live versions, demos, and piano/vocal interpretations of their standout tracks, offers a gratifying glimpse into the band's impressive history.

Get your copy HERE.

(hed)p.e. – Detox – Rap metal (Suburban Noize)

(hed)p.e.'s Detox is a rap metal tour de force that perfectly blends aggressive riffs with hard-hitting rap verses. The album is packed with energy and attitude, showcasing the band's unique ability to fuse genres seamlessly. It's a refreshing reminder of the creative potential within the rap metal scene.

Get your copy HERE.

Imperialist – Quantum - Blackened Thrash (Transcending Obscurity)

Quantum by Imperialist is a blackened thrash gem that delivers relentless speed and ferocity. The album is a whirlwind of razor-sharp riffs and blistering drum work, all underpinned by a dark, cosmic theme. It's a thrilling ride for fans of high-octane metal with a blackened edge.

Get your copy HERE.

Revulsed – Cerebral Contamination - Death Metal (Everlasting Spew)


Cerebral Contamination by Revulsed is a death metal powerhouse, delivering a brutal and unrelenting sonic assault. The technical prowess on display is remarkable, with blistering guitar solos and punishing drumming. The album is a testament to the band's skill in crafting extreme yet tightly controlled metal mayhem.

Get your copy HERE.

Ringarë – Of Momentous Endless Night - Symphonic Black Metal (Avantgarde)


Of Momentous Endless Night by Ringarë is a symphonic black metal masterpiece, blending atmospheric melodies with the raw aggression of black metal. The orchestral elements add a grandiose layer, creating a rich, immersive experience. It's a captivating album that transports listeners to a dark, otherworldly realm.

Get your copy HERE

Therion – Leviathan III - Symphonic/operatic metal (Napalm)


Leviathan III by Therion is an epic symphonic metal journey. The album combines grand operatic vocals with intricate orchestral arrangements, creating a majestic and powerful musical experience. It's a testament to Therion's continued evolution and mastery in blending metal with symphonic elements to create a unique and enchanting sound.

Get your copy HERE.

Also out this week…

Apostle – Liminal (Terminus Hate City)
Astral Sleep – We Are Already Living In The End Of Times (Sliptrick)
As You Left – Silver Chains Golden Veins (Self)
Bergsvriden – Uraldrad EP (Self)
Besomora – Delusional Monster EP (Self)
BlackFlow – Seeds Of Downfall (Personal)
Breed – History Of Tomorrow (Doc Gator)
Bunker 66 – Portraits Of Dismay (Dying Victims)
Capsule – Ferox EP (Self)
Crossfire – Switch To Reset (Wormholedeath)
Cryptic Process – Human Snack (Drowning In Chaos)
Cryptworm – Oozing Radioactive Vomition (Pulverised)
Damnationis – The Fallen Princess (Wormholedeath)
Ecology: HomeStones – Ecology: HomeStones (Sleeping Giant Glossolalia)
Empires Of Euphrates – Echoes Of Ancient Past EP (HPGD)
Embr – Embr (Black Doomba)
Feral Forms – Premalignant EP (Self)
Firmament/Midnight Prey – Gathered Under Open Skies Split EP (Dying Victims)
Freeways – True Bearing Re-Release (Dying Victims)
Gula – Birds Of The Apocalypse (Self)
Hinsides – Hinsides hörs djävulsklockans urklang (Shadow)
Horrifier – Horrid Resurrection (Personal)
Infernal Execrator – Diabolatry (Pulverised)
Insepultus – Deadly Gleams Of Blood, Steel And Fire (Loud Rage)
Kaos Krew – Blackout (Inverse)
Mavis – Grief Is No Ally (Arising Empire)
MesaVerde – Live EP 2023 (Apollon)
Mother Misery – From Shadow To Ghost (Doc Gator)
Myaelin – Naesekhnaetri (I, Voidhanger)
Never Elected – Turbulent (Sliptrick)
Observe The 93rd – Eternalism (Self)
Ofermod/Black Altar/Acherontas – Drakonian Elitism Split (Odium)
Ritvs – Der Tag Naht (Dying Victims)
Sartegos – Portais (I, Voidhanger)
Second To Sun – Live At The Third Room (Metal Legion)
Sedimentale – Dievel (Overdrive)
Solitary Sabred – Temple Of The Serpent (Vinyl Store)
Soul Incursion – Eternal Darkness EP (Self)
Spectral Lore – 11 Days (I, Voidhanger)
Strigampire – All To Dominate (Self)
Sulfuric Hatred – Sulfuric Hatred (Sentient Ruin)
Swtevl – Very Truly Yours (Magick Room)
Tyrannus/Magicide – Tory Punching Music Split (Fiadh)
Ulvhedner – Fjosmetall (Hellstain)
Undulation – An Unhealthy Interest In Suffering (I, Voidhanger)
Warcoe – A Place For Demons (Helter Skelter)
Witchsnake – Deathcult Of The Snake (Helter Skelter)


Back to blog
1 of 3