Racetraitor Unveils Intense Single “Pastoral Monolith”

Racetraitor Unveils Intense Single “Pastoral Monolith”

- By Cori Westbrook

The track features a guest assist from Dennis Lyxzén, vocalist of Refused and The (International) Noise Conspiracy.

Racetraitor, the band known for its unapologetic political stances and fierce sound, has released “Pastoral Monolith,” a compelling new single from their upcoming album, Creation and the Timeless Order of Things. The track, which delves into the realms of doom with its heavy riffs and chilling piano melodies, is the third taste of what to expect from their highly anticipated record.

The band’s newest offering features the gut-wrenching screams of Mani Mostofi and the iconic Dennis Lyxzén, known for his work with Refused and The (International) Noise Conspiracy. These vocals lend a powerful gravity to the song’s sorrowful lyrics. The accompanying music video pays tribute to The (International) Noise Conspiracy’s visual style for “Smash It Up” and includes live footage shot by The Art Of B.

In a statement about the new single, Racetraitor shed light on the underlying message of “Pastoral Monolith,” connecting the song’s narrative to the lasting effects of British colonialism in Nigeria, and drawing parallels to the recent turmoil in Gaza, which also traces its roots back to colonial policies.

Dennis Lyxzén’s participation in the track as a guest vocalist underscores his long-standing relationship with the band, and the music video complements the song’s theme with imagery and quotes from various activists and artists who have stood against colonialism and its capitalist underpinnings.

\The group remains as politically charged and sonically aggressive as they were at their inception. Their upcoming album, composed of 13 tracks, not only narrates the band's geographical and philosophical journey but also serves as a battle cry for liberation from destructive societal systems.

Although the album was initially scheduled to be completed in 2020, the Covid-19 pandemic and the resulting collapse of for-profit medical systems prompted a reevaluation of their goals. This introspection led to a heavier, more psychedelic, and globally-influenced sound. The delay also allowed Racetraitor to collaborate with various artists including Tim Kinsella, Stan Liszewaki, and Sanket Lama, with Ethan Lee McCarthy creating a noise track for the project.

Fans can now pre-order Creation and the Timeless Order of Things through Good Fight Music, eagerly anticipating a tracklist that features a variety of collaborations. The album was recorded and produced with a team of experienced professionals, including Greg Norman at Electrical Audio, Stuart Sikes at Paint by Numbers, and Dan Binaei at VoidDawn, with mixing by Greg Norman and mastering by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege.

Creation and the Timeless Order of Things is out November 17th. Pre-orders are available HERE

Creation and the Timeless Order of Things Tracklist:

  1. Eid (ft. Fared Shafinury and Patrick Hassan)
  2. Chamelecón (ft. Hera)
  3. Cave of the Patriarchs
  4. Godspeed
  5. Land Acknowledgment
  6. Pastoral Monolith (ft. Dennis Lyxzén)
  7. Black Creek / Red River (ft. Tim Kinsella)
  8. Santa Apolonia (ft. Ruben L. Garza Jr)
  9. Sarcophagus
  10. Subordinate Terror (ft. Stan Liszewski)
  11. Cape Rerenga (ft. Carrie Gerardi)
  12. Sword (ft. Sanket Lama)
  13. Pangaea Proxima
Back to blog
1 of 3