Vitriol Releases Dynamic New Single "Weaponized Loss"

Vitriol Releases Dynamic New Single "Weaponized Loss"

- By Cori Westbrook

The Portland brutalizers preview their forthcoming Century Media full length, 'Suffer & Become'.

Portland-based death metal group Vitriol has released a new single, "Weaponized Loss," from their forthcoming album Suffer & Become, scheduled for release on January 26, 2024, via Century Media Records. Accompanying the single is a visualizer produced by Vile Luxe Studio and directed/edited by Steve Blanco, enhancing the track's ferocious energy.

Kyle Rasmussen, Vitriol's guitarist and vocalist, describes "Weaponized Loss" as a song that echoes the themes of "The Flowers of Sadism," exploring the use of trauma as a form of strength in oppressive environments. "Becoming well acquainted with death and loss at an early age can better equip you to walk away from situations and relationships that are harming you. Cultivating a willingness to experience painful loss voluntarily, while being dangerous, can be a very valuable tool in the pursuit of survival."

Suffer & Become is available for pre-order in various formats, including digital, standard CD Jewelcase, and limited vinyl editions in Deep Blood Red, Orange Crush, and Red/Yellow/Black Splatter, exclusive to the band. The album's artwork, created by Dylan Humphries, and its tracklist, featuring titles like "Shame and its Afterbirth" and "Nursing from the Mother Wound," hint at the intensity of the content. Pre-orders are available HERE

The album reflects the core ethos of Vitriol: to push the boundaries of death metal. Since their formation in 2013, Rasmussen and Adam Roethlisberger, bassist and co-vocalist, have pursued a vision of unyielding extremity. Their previous works, including the 2013 Antichrist demo and 2017 Pain Will Define Their Death EP, set the stage for their impactful presence in the death metal scene.

Their 2019 album, To Bathe from the Throat of Cowardice, received acclaim for its uncompromising sound and emotional depth. Vitriol's dedication to their craft is evident in their dynamic live performances, having toured with notable bands like Nile and Morbid Angel.

Rasmussen shares that the creation of Suffer & Become was a challenging yet rewarding process, involving a deep exploration of personal and psychological themes. The album, produced by Rasmussen and mixed by Dave Otero, is not just an advancement in death metal's sonic landscape but also a personal journey for its creators. With Suffer & Become, Vitriol continues to redefine the genre, blending darkness with a newfound sense of optimism and vulnerability.

Suffer & Become track listing:

  1. Shame and its Afterbirth
  2. The Flowers of Sadism
  3. Nursing from the Mother Wound
  4. The Isolating Lie of Learning Another
  5. Survival's Careening Inertia
  6. Weaponized Loss 
  7. Flood of Predation
  8. Locked in Thine Frothing Wisdom
  9. I Am Every Enemy
  10. He Will Fight Savagely
Back to blog
1 of 3