Gojira return with ‘Fortitude’ the band’s first album in five years

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on February 17, 2021

Watch the masterful video for the opening track from the album in the Charles De Meyer-directed visual for “Born For One Thing”

The long-awaited album from French metal titans Gojira has finally become a reality.

The band has announced their first full length LP in five years with the arrival of Fortitude. Coupled with the news of the April 30th effort on Roadrunner Records, Gojira has also introduced the second single from album in “Born For One Thing”.

The track serves as the second selection from the record with Gojira having debuted the futuristically ferocious “Another World” late last year, prior to the confirmation of the album.

Paired with the single comes a slick Charles De Meyer-directed visual that adds a visual compliment to the pummeling pace of Gojira’s sonic assault.

“We have to practice detaching ourselves from everything, beginning with actual things,” vocalist / guitarist Joe Duplantier explains. Illuminating a message of anti-consumerism, Duplantier was inspired by Tibetan and Thai philosophers he read during his youth. “Own less possessions, and give what you don’t need away, because one day we’ll have to let everything go, and if we don’t, we’ll just become ghosts stuck between dimensions.”

The songs weighty message aligns with a current sentiment of reassessed priorities amid the pandemic. The world has turned upside down and on “Born For One Thing,” Gojira aims to make sense of it all.

Fortitude from Gojira arrives April 30th via Roadrunner Records. Pre-order the album – HERE

1.  “Born For One Thing”
2.  “Amazonia”
3.  “Another World”
4.  “Hold On”
5.  “New Found”
6.  “Fortitude”
7.  “The Chant”
8.  “Sphinx”
9.  “Into The Storm”
10. “The Trails”
11. “Grind”