Hatebreed announce new album, ‘Weight of the False Self’

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on September 10, 2020

The hardcore legends release their eighth studio album on November 27th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Hardcore pillars Hatebreed have delivered on their social media tease to release something new on September 11th.

Coupling the announcement of their eighth studio record arriving November 27th on Nuclear Blast Records, Hatebreed have released a lyric video for the title track of the album, “Weight of the False Self.”

Working with Chris “Zeuss” Harris, the band recorded the album during an eventful 2019. Entering the studio following the massive success of the sold-out Hatebreed anniversary shows, the latest album looks to replicate the success of their 2016 LP, The Concrete Confessional. Racking up a colossal 42 million streams, the album’s single, “Looking Down The Barrel of Today” amassed some 30 million-plus Spotify streams on it’s own.

Discussing the contextual direction of album number eight, frontman Jamey Jasta offered the following.

“When writing lyrics and riffs, I try to be in the moment, getting a mental picture of my current reality in order to convey what I want to say,” says the frontman.

 “Sometimes, I think my reality consists of two irreducible elements, expressed by the age-old interior battle of the dualistic self. The angel on one shoulder stands firm, providing reason, wisdom, and compassion while the devil dances angrily on the other, ranting with passion, spite, and dark desire. I often wonder if a truly centered mind is attainable, an effortless and non-dualistic state of equilibrium. Until then, I’ll just listen to both sides of my personality and hope I make the right choice. At the end of the day, the listener will choose to hear what they want, but when I am writing, I imagine the voice of the angel to be a lil’ louder.”

Pre-order Weight of The False SelfHERE

Stream the lyric video for the title track below.

01. Instinctive (Slaughterlust)
02. Let Them All Rot
03. Set It Right (Start with Yourself)
04. Weight of the False Self
05. Cling to Life
06. A Stroke of Red
07. Dig Your Way Out
08. This I Earned
09. Wings of the Vulture
10. The Herd Will Scatter
11. From Gold to Gray
12. Invoking Dominance