Abbath Releases New Single "Dream Cull," Announces Album - Knotfest

Abbath Releases New Single “Dream Cull,” Announces Album

Posted by Corinne Westbrook in News on January 12, 2022

The third full-length album from the former Immortal frontman arrives on March 25th via Season of Mist.

Black metal icon ABBATH has returned with his formative brand of bleak and gloom with his new single “Dream Cull” and announced his upcoming full-length album, Dread Reaver, due out March 25th via Season of Mist. 

The solo project of former Immortal frontman Abbath (real name Olve Eikemo), Dread Reaver marks the third full-length and the culmination of everything before it.

Abbath’s creativity abounds on Dream Reaver, a solid fusion of his debut “Abbath” (2016) and follow-up “Outstrider” (2019). With the signature Abbath interweaving of NWOBHM, thrash metal, and black metal, Dream Reaver is a merciless and dark onslaught of bleakness. 

The cover artwork was created by Bjørn Stian Bjoarvik, while Dread Reaver was produced by Endre Kirkesola, Abbath, and Dag Erik Nygaard at Dub Studio in Kristiansand and Bergen Lydstudio, respectively. Kirkesola and Nygaard also engineered. Mixing was performed by Abbath and Kirkesola, while the mastering was done by maestro Maor Appelbaum (Faith No More, Rob Halford) at Maor Appelbaum Mastering in Los Angeles. 

Pre-orders for ‘Dread Reaver’ are available in the Season of Mist shop HERE. Pre-save the album on streaming services HERE.


  1. Acid Haze (04:51)
  2. Scarred Core (03:29)
  3. Dream Cull (04:15)
  4. Myrmidon (04:33)
  5. The Deep Unbound (04:05)
  6. Septentrion (04:30)
  7. Trapped Under Ice (03:59)
  8. The Book of Breath (04:35)
  9. Dread Reaver (04:43)
  10. Make my day (04:16)

Recording line-up:

Abbath – Guitar, bass & vocals
Ukri Suvilehto – Drums
Ole André Farstad – Lead & acoustic guitars
Mia Wallace – Bass on Acid Haze, Scarred Core, The Deep Unbound & Dread Reaver

More on Knotfest…

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.