Amon Amarth Unleash 'The Great Heathen Army,' Share New Video For "Find A Way Or Make One" - Knotfest
Knotfest.com

Amon Amarth Unleash ‘The Great Heathen Army,’ Share New Video For “Find A Way Or Make One”

Posted by Corinne Westbrook in News on August 5, 2022

Get the details on the band’s augmented reality scavenger hunt and relive their epic surprise set at Wacken Open Air.

Viking metal commanders Amon Amarth have loosed The Great Heathen Army upon the world! To celebrate the release of their twelfth studio album, Amon Amarth have also released a music video for highlight track “Find A Way Or Make One.” You can order The Great Heathen Army HERE.

Speaking on the release of The Great Heathen Army, the band shares: “Heathens! The time is here for the arrival of The Great Heathen Army! This record has many elements that make up Amon Amarth in 2022, from the dark and brutal death metal of “Oden Owns You All” to the sing-along of goat-inspired “Heidrun” to Biff Byford’s amazing guest vocals on “Saxons and Vikings” and much more. We’re ready to take this record around the world for a two year raid and we’ll see you soon at the shows.”

Expounding on the video for “Find A Way or Make One,” they add: “We did this video with director Mikis Fontagnier in Frankfurt, Germany and with it we wanted to try something different. This video is our take on the style of some of our favorite videos we grew up on as kids, like Twisted Sister’s “We’re Not Gonna Take It” and Motorhead’s “Killed By Death”. We had some fun making this and it was definitely fun to smash up a stale old business office!”

To have a bit of fun on release day, the band has partnered with Drops AR, having hidden 5 virtual trading cards in an augmented reality scavenger hunt. Each card represents one of the members and includes a song preview from the album. The hunt also takes place in WebAR, so there is no app to download and anyone can join.  Fans can start their hunt HERE or on the Metal Blade website. By joining the hunt, fans can enter to win a prize package that includes an Amon Amarth box set, a blood red marbled vinyl, and a music cassette. 

The band has been teasing the album with an additional two singles “Get In The Ring,” which is the official entrance music for AEW pro-wrestling star Erick Redbeard who also stars in the music video; and “The Great Heathen Army.” The title track was accompanied by a Stranger Things inspired music video shot by Pavel Trebukhin.

Amon Amarth also treated everyone at Wacken to a surprise set! Performing under the pseudonym, Guardians of Asgard, the band celebrated the release with a set of fan favorites. 

Additionally, they recently announced a historic lineup and mammoth set of dates for “The Great Heathen Tour” with Carcass, Obituary and Cattle Decapitation. The tour kicks off on November 11th in Las Vegas, Nevada and wraps on December 17th in Los Angeles with a historic headlining play at The Kia Forum – the first ever death metal band to headline the iconic venue.

The Great Heathen Tour Dates:

Friday, November 11 – Las Vegas, NV @ Brooklyn Bowl*

Saturday, November 12 – Phoenix, AZ @ Arizona Federal Theater

Monday, November 14 – San Antonio, TX @ Aztec Theater

Tuesday, November 15 – Houston, TX @ Bayou Music Center

Wednesday, November 16 – Dallas, TX @ Southside Ballroom

Friday, November 18 – Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle

Saturday, November 19 – Orlando, FL @ Hard Rock Live

Sunday, November 20 – Charlotte, NC @ The Fillmore

Tuesday, November 22 – Philadelphia, PA @ The Fillmore

Wednesday, November 23 – Boston, MA @ MGM Music Hall at Fenway

Friday, November 25 – Detroit, MI @ The Fillmore

Saturday, November 26 – Chicago, IL @ The Aragon Ballroom

Sunday, November 27 – Cincinnati, OH @ The Andrew J Brady Music Center

Wednesday, November 30 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Stage AE**

Thursday, Dec 01 – New York, NY @ Hammerstein Ballroom

Friday, Dec 02 – Toronto, ON @ History

Saturday, Dec 03 – Laval, QC @ Place Bell

Monday, Dec 05 – Madison, WI @ The Sylvee

Tuesday, Dec 06 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Fillmore

Wednesday, Dec 07- Kansas City, MO @ Uptown

Friday, Dec 09 – Denver, CO @ The Fillmore

Saturday, Dec 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex

Monday, Dec 12 – Seattle, WA @ Showbox SODO

Tuesday, Dec 13 – Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater

Thursday, Dec 15 – Wheatland, CA @ Hard Rock Live

Friday, Dec 16 – San Diego, CA @ SOMA

Saturday, Dec 17 – Los Angeles, CA @ Kia Forum

*No Carcass

** Non-Live Nation date

More on Knotfest…

Stay in the know – join Knotfest for relevant news, exclusive content, interviews, and more.

Upgrade to Knotfest Premium for early ticket access to the biggest shows, in studio footage from Slipknot, exclusive performances, 10% off merch and much more!


Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.

Knotfest.com