Boy Harsher featured on the John Carpenter-helmed 'Halloween Ends' soundtrack - Knotfest

Boy Harsher featured on the John Carpenter-helmed ‘Halloween Ends’ soundtrack

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on September 13, 2022

The film marks the finale of the David Gordon Green-directed trilogy and includes the single “Burn It Down” from darkwave duo.

En route to the release of the finale in the David Gordon Green era of the Halloween saga that began with the franchise’s 2018 reboot, the film’s original director in John Carpenter continues to add to the legacy of the Michael Myers in the modern era. Serving as the composer of the trilogy’s original soundtrack, the venerated stalwart of cinema again helms the score of for the finale chapter of the upcoming Halloween Ends.

Teaming with longtime collaborators Cody Carpenter and Daniel Davies, Carpenter again taps into the ominous soundscapes of the original 1978 release and ushers in the modern era of eerie synth – adding to the tension and terrifying presence of the the iconic Michael Myers. Recorded in its entirety split between John Carpenter’s home studio and Davies’ studio, the original motion picture soundtrack for Halloween Kills is being regarded as one of Carpenter’s more memorable projects, harkening the dark, almost danceable rhythms of works like Escape From New York.

Set for a digital release on the same day as the film’s premiere, October 14th, Carpenter’s work is being augmented with a contribution from the next generation of darkwave practitioners cut from the Carpenter cloth. The duo of Boy Harsher has just shared their original track, “Burn It Down” which serves as a anchor track of the film’s foreboding score.

Sacred Bones and Nude Club (Boy Harsher’s imprint)/City Slang are joining forces to release a maxi single containing four versions of the recently debuted track Burn It Down”. The four-track 12″ vinyl EP will be available on January 20th, 2023.

Boy Harsher reflected on the personal significance of being asked to contribute creatively to such a iconic franchise. “During an extremely brief period of rest between tours, we got this call from the music supervisor of ‘Halloween Ends’. The director, David Gordon Green, had listened to our music and wanted to use something for the final installment in the trilogy – Halloween Ends. We flew to New York the next day to meet the team and discuss the possibilities. It was totally surreal. Obviously we’re huge fans of Carpenter and the franchise is a fav, but to work with Gordon Green was also so special, his early films (George Washington, Undertow, Snow Angels) were heavy influences on our work.

Boy Harsher added how the film’s location presented an important nexus. “The real kicker is that Halloween Ends was shot in Savannah, GA – the birthplace of Boy Harsher and where we met. Unbelievable. It all felt too synchronous, and we knew we had to make something work although we were about to leave for a multi-month tour that week. We flew home to Massachusetts, dug through old demos, and found “Burn It Down”. In the end it was the perfect energy for the bittersweet love affair between Allyson and Corey, so during a couple days off – we cleaned it up and made it come alive.”

The Halloween Ends Original Motion Picture Soundtrack is set for digital release on October 14th. The physical edition will follow on January 20th via Sacred Bones. Stream the first preview from the album with the tension heavy track The Procession. Stream the original track from Boy Harsher “Burn It Down” featured on the Halloween Ends Original Motion Picture Soundtrack below. Pre-order the album – HERE

Halloween Ends Original Motion Picture Soundtrack tracklist

1. Where Is Jeremy?

2. Halloween Ends (Main Title)

3. Lauries Theme Ends

4. The Cave

5. Drags To The Cave

6. Evil Eyes

7. Transformation

8. Because of You

9. Requiem For Jeremy

10. Kill The Cop

11. Corey and Michael

12. Corey’s Requiem

13. The Junk Yard

14. Where Are You?

15. Bye Bye Corey

16. The Fight

17. Before Her Eyes

18. The Procession

19. Cherry Blossoms

20. Halloween Ends (End Titles)

Boy Harsher Burn It Down EP tracklist

1. Burn It Down – Rework

2. Burn It Down

3. Burn It Down – Rework (Instrumental)

4. Burn It Down (Instrumental)

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.