Deathcore devastators Ov Sulfur to release debut album, 'The Burden Ov Faith' - Knotfest

Deathcore devastators Ov Sulfur to release debut album, ‘The Burden Ov Faith’

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on January 20, 2023

Paired with the announcement, the band have released an emotionally-charged track in “Earthen”

Following the impactful release of the succession of singles in  “Death Ov Circumstance“, “Stained In Rot” and “Wide Open“, emerging deathcore disruptors Ov Sulfur have shared the official details of their debut full-length, The Burden Ov Faith, via Century Media Records.

Enlisting a proper trinity of personnel to work alongside the band, Morgoth Beatz (Winds of Plague, Scarlxrd) served as the project producer, Josh Schroeder (Lorna Shore, Tallah) took on the mixing and mastering, while former Machine Head guitarist Logan Mader took on the engineering of vocals and drums.

Following the dominant EP release of Oblivion in 2021, The Burden Ov Faith asserts a skilled showcase of extremity, roping in the most intense elements of deathcore, black metal, and metalcore, The band’s founding guitarist/vocalist Chase Wilson quipped, “It’s the ‘Oblivion’ EP on steroids. I would almost call it ‘Arena Black Metal’ at points!”

For the album announcement, the band have selected a fourth cut from the presentation to preview the punishment to come. The track “Earthen” finds Ov Sulfur framing their pummel in a much more personal way. Paired with a compelling new visual directed by Vicente Cordero with aesthetic director MM Fabrications, the single is as sprawling as it is sincere.

“‘Earthen’ is about my nephew who died from cancer at 16,” comments vocalist Ricky Hoover. “After failed bone-marrow transplants, he decided to stop and let it take its course. It’s about witnessing that and being there, holding him when he died. That song is very emotional for me…

I was actually crying in the studio tracking vocals. We needed the video to capture the sheer tragedy of that situation to really underscore how unfair and unjust it is for any ‘god’ to put a child through something as awful as cancer.”

Chase Wilson further added, “The guitar lead from this song is the first thing I wrote that ended up on the album, well over a year ago. The song came together quickly after that and has stayed very similar since. As such, it’ll appeal to fans of the ‘Oblivion’EP, as well as the newer stuff we’ve been putting out, with the most obvious growth being Ricky’s emotional singing and Leviathvn’s super tasteful drumming. We’re all really proud of this one.”

The arrival of the album marks an important uptick in the trajectory of the relatively new outfit. Since the band’s formation just last year, their well-executed brand of blackened deathcore has resonated with fans with an affinity for extremity. Among the special guests with contributions on the debut record include the likes of Taylor Barber of Left To Suffer, Kyle Medina of Bodysnatcher and Howard Jones of Light The Torch, and formerly of Killswitch Engage.

The Burden Ov Faith arrives March 24th via Century Media Records. Pre-order the album – HERE

The Burden Ov Faith tracklisting

1. Stained In Rot        

2. Befouler (ft. Alex Terrible) 

3. Unraveling (ft. Left to Suffer / Taylor Barber)    

4. Death Ov Circumstance    

5. Earthen      

6. A Path to Salvation?          

7. I, Apostate 

8. Wide Open (ft. Light The Torch / Howard Jones)          

9. The Inglorious Archetype  

10. The Burden Ov Faith (ft. Bodysnatcher / Kyle Medina and Lindsay Schoolcraft)

Ov Sulfur On Tour

Feb. 17, 2023 – Las Vegas, NV @ Backstage Bar & Billiards *The Burden Ov FaithAlbum Release Show*

Feb. 24, 2023 – Roseville, CA @ Goldfield Trading Post

Feb. 25, 2023 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Catalyst

Feb. 26, 2023 – Fresno, CA @ Full Circle Brewing Co.

Get tickets – HERE 

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.