Empire State Bastard set September release date for full length debut, 'Rivers of Heresy' - Knotfest

Empire State Bastard set September release date for full length debut, ‘Rivers of Heresy’

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on May 31, 2023

The album is described as “unabridged hatred in musical form” and features Simon Neil and Mike Vennart of Biffy Clyro and legendary drummer Dave Lombardo.

The hype has hit an all time high when it comes to the excitement swirling around passion project power trio Empire State Bastard. The unit comprised of Simon Neil and Mike Vennart of Biffy Clyro along with Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo shared their first single, “Harvest” earlier this spring, coupled with a succession of UK shows that had sold out well before anyone had even heard a note of music from the band.

With the recent announcement of the band’s signing to Roadrunner Records, an album announcement seemed imminent and now, there is confirmation. Rivers of Heresy will mark the debut LP from Empire State Bastard and will arrive September 1st via Roadrunner Records. A visceral, sonic purge, the intensity of the band’s sound is fueled by a commitment to make the most confrontational music possible.

Vennart explained the ethos of the project, “I set about making the most fucking poisonous vile music I possibly could, just unabridged hatred in musical form.” Echoing that sentiment, Neil detailed his contribution. “Lyrically, it’s as misanthropic and nihilistic as I’ve ever written.”

The metallic amalgam packaged in Empire State Bastard sources the best of aggressive music to create stylistic mesh that is nothing short of massive. Citing influences that range from the stoner wallop of Sleep, the hardcore heft of Siege, the murkiness of Melvins, the shred of Slayer and vocal prowess of the  inimitable Mike Patton, Empire State Bastard is a pure revelry in all things heavy, executed by three musicians at the top of their game.

En route to the arrival of the debut record, Empire State Bastard will play select international festival dates this summer, including sets at Download, Glastonbury and ArcTanGent. The band will then make their live introduction in the US an appearance at Riot Fest this September. A current list of dates for the band can be found – HERE

Rivers of Heresy features the artwork of Daniel P. Carter. The album arrives September 1st.

Order it – HERE

Rivers of Heresy tracklisting

  1. Harvest
  2. Blusher
  3. Moi?
  4. Tired, Aye?
  5. Sons and Daughters
  6. Stutter
  7. Palms of Hands
  8. Dusty
  9. Sold!
  10. The Looming

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.