Enslaved confirm 16th studio album; debut punishing new single "Congelia" - Knotfest

Enslaved confirm 16th studio album; debut punishing new single “Congelia”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on November 18, 2022

‘Heimdal’ takes a deep dive into the band’s roots in Norse mythology in an 8-track masterclass.

Norwegian extreme music institution Enslaved have announced their landmark 16th full length studio effort with the confirmation of Heimdal. Set for a March 3rd, 2023 release via Nuclear Blast Records, the album borrows thematic inspiration from the one of the most enigmatic figures in Nordic mythology in tandem with the band’s ever-evolving, boundary challenging brand of metallic extremity.

Further introducing the scope of the project, Enslaved has debuted the latest preview from the project with the commanding single, “Congelia”. Paired with a gripping visual directed by Marius Marthinussen Søreide, the clip is equally eerie and emotive – showcasing the full range of the veteran extreme music practitioners.

Enslaved guitarist Ivar Bjørnson and vocalist Grutle Kjellson reflected on the longevity of the band and their continued prowess as cutting-edge contemporaries.

“It’s quite weird, yet pretty awesome that we are now talking about the release of our 16th album; yes our 16th full-length album release. That’s not too shabby for a couple of scallywags from rural western Norway, is it? If you count our stint in the short lived Phobia-act, we have been playing together for no less than 32 years!”

The pair also spoke about integral Viking lore has been to the band throughout their career. “In all these years, Norse mythology has been our umbilical cord to the realms of mysticism and philosophy, and our gateway to the realms of deep psychology and the esoteric worlds beyond. One of the most fascinating characters of our mythology is HEIMDAL, and he has been lurking around in our minds like an enigma for three decades now. His first appearance was in a song called ‘Heimdallr’ on our demo tape ‘Yggdrasill’ back in 1992, and he’s had both minor and more significant roles in our lyrical universe over the years.”

Both Bjørnson and Kjellson detailed how creative vision of their most recent body of work. “This time we have decided to dedicate an entire body of work to this most enigmatic of characters and richest of archetypes – we give you ‘HEIMDAL’. We have reached deeper and scouted further ahead than ever before – the past, present and future sound of the band comes together in songs born from sheer inspiration – it is the common force of a close-nit group of friends and musicians.”

Among the previously released singles showcased on the track include the epic single and instrumental masterclass of “Kingdom“, as well as the band’s showcase of heavy psychedelia in “Caravans To The Outer Worlds” which was featured on the band’s 2021 EP of the same name.

The bonus versions of the album also include the track, “Gangandi”, in addition to a Blu-Ray copy of 2021’s massive streaming production, Otherworldly Big Band Experience – a impactful broadcast that proved to be a massive leap forward for the Norwegian legends.

Heimdal from Enslaved arrives March 3rd, 2023 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Pre-order the album – HERE

Heimdal tracklisting
01. Behind The Mirror
02. Congelia
03. Forest Dweller
04. Kingdom
05. The Eternal Sea
06. Caravans To The Outer Worlds
07. Gangandi (Bonus Track)*
08. Heimdal

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.