Korn announces 14th studio album 'Requiem' with the introductory single "Start The Healing" - Knotfest

Korn announces 14th studio album ‘Requiem’ with the introductory single “Start The Healing”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on November 11, 2021

The band’s follow-up to 2019’s The Nothing arrives February 4th, 2022.

Bookending what has been a rollercoaster year for the Nu-metal trailblazers, Korn has announced their 14th studio album, Requiem, and set a February 4th, 2022 arrival date for the highly-anticipated follow-up to 2019’s lauded, The Nothing.

After a weeklong campaign of cryptic messaging and online teasing with “11:11” clearly suggesting to stay ready on November 11th, the band has delivered the first offering from the album with the lead single, “Start The Healing.”

Asserting the band’s unparalleled signature, the definitive guitars of James ‘Munky’ Shaffer and Brian ‘Head’ Welch drive an emotive track that showcase a colossal vocal performance from Jonathan Davis. Soaring with weighty vocal stanzas like, I should’ve been good // I should’ve been down // I couldn’t let go // What could I do? // I can take it all away, the feelings // Break apart the pain and start the healing that track hints at a year that challenged the resilience of the band.

The track serves as the first new showing of original material in two years and coincides with the end of a turbulent, albeit triumphant 2021. Among the hurdles of the year included the temporary departure of founding bassist Reginald ‘Fieldy’ Arvizu, who opted to take an extended leave to address “bad habits” that had hindered his overall health.

Korn would mount an instant charge as one of the most notable bands to begin touring post-pandemic, yet would face additional setbacks when Jonathan Davis, ‘Munky’, and the band’s drummer Ray Luzier all contracted the Coronavirus at different stages in the band’s touring itinerary. Speaking to the perseverance of Korn, Davis would show his fortitude by performing from a throne onstage despite lingering effects from his bout with Covid-19.

The band would also tally another achievement in their storied career with the successful launch into the universe of global streaming with the launch of Monumental. Taking to the rooftop of The Stranger Things immersive experience, the band performed a historic, career-spanning set with one of the most ambitious visual efforts of the era. The event earned universal praise and established one of the highlights of the year for a band that has made a career of changing the game.

“Start the Healing” kicks of the rollout for Korn’s fourteenth studio LP, Requiem, which arrives February 4th, 2022. The album is currently available for pre-order – HERE.

Stream the Tim Saccenti-directed visual for the single and check the artwork and track listing below.

REQUIEM Tracklist
1. “Forgotten”
2. “Let the Dark Do the Rest”
3. “Start The Healing”
4. “Lost in the Grandeur”
5. “Disconnect”
6. “Hopeless and Beaten”
7. “Penance to Sorrow”
8. “My Confession”
9. “Worst Is On Its Way”

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.