Mastodon introduce double album, 'Hushed and Grim' with the new single, "Pushing The Tides" - Knotfest

Mastodon introduce double album, ‘Hushed and Grim’ with the new single, “Pushing The Tides”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on September 10, 2021

The 15-track, 84-minute jaunt serves as the highly-anticipated follow up to the band’s 2017, Emperor of Sand.

Atlanta metal goliath Mastodon have made good on a tease earlier this week with the news of their ninth studio album, Hushed and Grim, slated to arrive on October 29th.

The album will serve as the follow up to the band’s 2017 LP, Emperor of Sand though there has been additional music that has surfaced in the last four years. Mastodon dropped their The Cold Dark Place EP as a supplement the same year Emperor of Sand was released.

The band also paid tribute to their departed manager with Zeppelin homage in “Stairway to Nick John,” back in 2019. Mastodon also contributed to a couple of soundtracks both in 2020 and 2021, adding”Forged by Neron” to the Dark Nights: Death Metal comic book soundtrack and “Rufus Lives” to the Bill and Ted Face the Music motion picture soundtrack last year.

The ninth studio album in Hushed and Grim is the culmination of work over the past year. Recruiting some familiar supporting personnel, Mastodon have tapped David Bottrill for the album’s production – his resume includes work with the likes of Tool, Mudvayne, Stone Sour, and even Peter Gabriel. In addition, the band have enlisted frequent collaborator Paul Romano, who also designed the band’s unmistakable artwork for essentials like Crack The Skye, Blood Mountain, and Leviathan to name a few.

To mark the news of Hushed and Grim, Mastodon have issued their first sample from the album with a blistering first in “Pushing The Tides”. Channeling Leviathan-era pummel, the track is a feverish 3-minute jaunt that is both nuanced and aggressive in a way that underscores Mastodon remain at the very top of their game.

Pre-order Hushed and Grim – HERE // Stream “Pushing The Tides” below.

 Hushed and Grim Tracklisting
1. “Pain With An Anchor”
2. “The Crux”
3. “Sickle And Peace”
4. “More Than I Could Chew”
05. “The Beast”
6. “Skeleton Of Splendor”
7. “Teardrinker”
8. “Pushing The Tides”
9. “Peace And Tranquility”
10. “Dagger”
11. “Had It All”
12. “Savage Lands”
13. “Gobblers Of Dregs”
14. “Eyes Of Serpents”
15. “Gigantium”

Latest Articles on