Megadeth strengthen their campaign with latest single, "Soldier On!" - Knotfest

Megadeth strengthen their campaign with latest single, “Soldier On!”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on August 12, 2022

The eagerly-awaited album ‘The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!’ is due September 2nd.

As thrash pillars Megadeth march towards the September 2nd arrival date of one of the most anticipated albums of the year in, The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!, the band have launched a succession of potent previews – strategic strikes that have all resonated with major impact on the community of heavy music.

Thus far, Megadeth have revealed an epic pair of music videos, both of which detail the harrowing narrative and origin story of Megadeth’s emblematic figure, Vic Rattlehead. Following the emphatic introduction of the album with Dave Mustaine-produced short film for “We’ll Be Back: Chapter I, Megadeth agained unloaded with Night Stalkers last month – the continuation of the multi-part short film – this time featuring the iconic, Ice-T.

For the third preview of the album, Megadeth have showcased the band’s songwriting versatility and rock heavy lean with a personal testament to resilience in “Solder On!” Speaking on the source material for the single, Mustaine explained, “Coming to the realization that you need to walk away from a relationship that’s very toxic, and how hard it can be to start down that road. But you know you need to, and just taking that first step is the hardest part. Whatever your leaving does to them, you have to block that part out, stay the course and do what’s right for you. It will be hard in the beginning, but you have got to live for yourself to be worth a damn to anyone else. You’ve got to Soldier On!” 

The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! serves as the long-awaited follow-up to Megadeth’s triumphant 2016 full length, Dystopia. Enlisting the same production personnel from the prior Grammy Award-winning effort, Mustaine again teamed with co-producer Chris Rakestraw for this project. With guitarist Kiko Loureiro drummer Dirk Verbeuren and bassist Steve DiGiorgio, the most current iteration of Megadeth began to take shape crafted in the studio. As the band began touring, alumni James LoMenzo eventually rejoined Megadeth as the band’s permanent bass player – affirming the next chapter of one of heavy music’s most important units.

In addition to the various physical formats of CD, cassette and vinyl, The Sick, The Dying… And the Dead will also be available as limited deluxe edition 2LP, 12-track album pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a numbered gatefold jacket with a 12×24 lyrics/credits insert, a lenticular vinyl lithograph and a bonus 7-inch featuring “We’ll Be Back” and the unreleased b-side “The Conjuring (Live).” The limited deluxe edition will only be available via Megadeth’s online store, Sound of Vinyl, and uDiscover. The special edition release can be pre-ordered HERE

Stream the visualizer for “Soldier On!” from Megadeth below.

The Sick, The Dying… And the Dead lands September 2nd. Pre-order the album – HERE

The Sick, The Dying…And The Dead! Tracklisting

1) The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!

2) Life In Hell

3) Night Stalkers (feat. Ice T)

4) Dogs Of Chernobyl

5) Sacrifice

6) Junkie

7) Psychopathy

8) Killing Time

9) Soldier On!

10) Celebutante

11) Mission To Mars

12) We’ll Be Back

13) Police Truck *

14) This Planet’s On Fire (Burn In Hell) (feat. Sammy Hagar) *

* (digital only)

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.