New Flesh 9/16: Releases From Behemoth, The Mars Volta, Kill Division And More! - Knotfest

New Flesh 9/16: Releases From Behemoth, The Mars Volta, Kill Division And More!

Posted by Corinne Westbrook in News on September 16, 2022

From grindcore to pop-tinged prog to extreme metal, here is the weekly haul of fresh cuts from heavy music’s best.

This week we have some kick ass releases ranging from spooky goth rock, the latest opus from some extreme metal masters, a debut from more metal masters, and no shortage of experimentation. For all of our favorite new releases, be sure to check out the official Knotfest New Flesh playlist!

The 69 Eyes – Drive EP – Goth ‘N Roll

Drive from The 69 Eyes a great way to kick off the fall season, which, judging from the clouds outside my window, is rapidly approaching. Despite being only four tracks long, Drive is a great prelude to The 69 Eyes album coming in 2023. With elements of goth music and glam metal, this album is a bloody but fun time.

Get your copy HERE.

Behemoth – Opvs Contra Natvram – Extreme Metal

Behemoth has long earned their name. Nergal and his cohorts are master craftsman of blasphemous black and death metal. Opvs Contra Natvram sees the band, even after all this time, continue to explore new territory. They’ve slowed things down a bit, creating a brooding atmosphere with ritualistic tones throughout. Behemoth may be at their most creatively experimental!

Get your copy HERE

The Devil Wears Prada – Color Decay – Metalcore

Catchy, infectious and empowering, Color Decay is rife with old-fashioned metalcore singalong moments. They combine gnarly screams with softer melodies and poetic lyrics, as well as pulling out some new tricks and getting experimental.

Get your copy HERE.

Electric Callboy – Tekkno – Electronicore

Electric Callboy know how to have a damn good time! These guys combine a bit of everything from metal to disco to pop for an album that is just a batshit blast. Electric Callboy have tightened up their composition, brought on some surprising serious moments, but didn’t abandon the humor we all know and love.

Get your copy HERE.

Kill Division – Peace Through Tyranny – Grindcore

This may be a debut album, but Kill Division is made up of some extreme metal’s best musicians. Gus Rios (Gruesome) is on guitar, Kyle Symons (Malevolent Creation) vocals, Jeramie Kling (Inhuman Condition) bass and Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth/Bent Sea/ex-Soilwork) drums. Furious deathgrind sound, with headbang worth riffs, break neck drums and enough rage to rattle your foundations, this album is the perfect soundtrack to smashing some stuff.

Get your copy HERE.

The Mars Volta – The Mars Volta – Progressive Rock

Very experimental yet melodic, treading into pop waters, the Mars Volta reunion has been hotly anticipated for a decade. While Omar and Cedric have never really stopped working together, this marks a new era for the duo. While far from the spacey tracks old-school fans are used to, the new found sheen lacks none of the experimental or creative nature at the core of The Mars Volta.

Get your copy HERE

Phobophilic – Enveloping Absurdity – Death Metal

We wrap up this week with some good ol’ death metal. Death metal is an increasingly diverse genre, expanding far beyond any typical definitions. Phobophilic is almost a convergence of each of the strands of death metal, pulling from an array of influences. This is Phobophilic’s first full-length and it shows this band knows what they are doing and will be bringing the riffage for many albums to come.

Get your copy HERE

Also out this week…

ACOD – Fourth Reign: Over Opacities And Beyond (LADLO)
Ahasver – Causa Sui (Lifeforce)
Alberto Rigoni & Michael Manring – Grains Of Sand (Self)
Altars Ablaze – Life Desecration (Lavadome)
Amoriello – Phantom Sounds (H42)
Anti-Clone – Human EP (Self)
Assimilator – Assimilator (Self)
Aviana – Corporation (Arising Empire)
Battlesword – Towards The Unknown (MDD)
A Burden To Bear – With Empty Eyes And Hollow Hearts EP (Self)
Choke – Desiphon EP (Translation Loss)
Clutch – Sunrise On Slaughter Beach (Weathermaker)
Collapse Culture – Drag Your Coffin My Lord (Pax Aeternum)
The Darling Fire – Distortions (Iodine)
Dead City Ruins – Shockwave (AFM)
Dead Void – Volatile Forms (Dark Descent)
Deconsecration – Crypt Lurker (Chaos)
Deformatory – Harbinger EP (Self)
Destrage – SO MUCH. too much. (3DOT)
Edenbridge – Shangri-La (AFM)
Eldprov – Rift (Grind To Death)
Epoch Of Unlight – At War With The Multiverse (Dark Horizon)
The Erinyes – The Erinyes (Frontiers)
Fans Of The Dark – Suburbia (Frontiers)
Friendship – Alchemist Of Your Destiny (Apollon)
Ginevera – We Belong To The Stars (Frontiers)
Gnipahålan – I Nordisk Vredelusta (Purity Through Fire)
Hartmann – Get Over It (Sonic 11/Pride & Joy)
Hedonist – Sepulchral Lacerations Re-Release (Dawnbreed)
Hegemone – Voyance (Brucia)
Hetroertzen – Phosphorus Vol. 1 (Listenable)
House Of Lords – Saints And Sinners (Frontiers)
Images Of Eden – Weathered And Torn (Pavement)
Industrial Puke – Where Life Crisis Starts (Suicide)
Irist – Gloria EP (Nuclear Blast)
Kerberos – Of Mayhem And Dismay (Self)
Liar Thief Bandit – Diamonds EP (The Sign)
Little Villains – Battle Of Britain (Spira)
Lybica – Lybica (Metal Blade)
Marco Mendoza – New Direction (Mighty)
Medieval Demon – Black Coven (Hells Headbangers)
Mentalist – Empires Falling (Pride & Joy)
Monster Magnet – 4-Way Diablo Re-Release (Napalm)
Monster Magnet – Monolithic Baby! Re-Release (Napalm)
Mons Veneris – Inversados d’Um Abismo de Podridão (Signal Rex)
Morbus Grave – Lurking Into Absurdity (Chaos)
Mork – Den Svevende Festning EP (Peaceville)
Mortuous – Upon Desolation (Carbonized)
Mycelia – In A Late Country (Eclipse)
The Necromancers – Where The Void Rose (Self)
Nonvector – A Short Trip Home EP (Wormholedeath)
Omega Diatribe – My Sphere EP (Metal Scrap)
Omophagia – Rebirth In Black (Unique Leader)
Pirkan – Holy Amnesia (Sun & Moon)
Retador – Retador (Xtreem)
Sagreveht – Thanatology (Wormholedeath)
Sarcophagum – Conduits To The Underworld EP (Nuclear Winter)
Sinnery – Black Bile (Exitus Strategem)
Skare – Skare (Amor Fati)
Smith/Kotzen – Better Days…And Nights (BMG)
Somehow Jo – Scales And Details (Inverse)
Spiritus Mortis – The Great Seal (Svart)
Sublation – The Path To Bedlam (Self)
Sumerlands – Dreamkiller (Relapse)
Terra Atlantica – Beyond The Borders (Pride & Joy)
Titan To Tachyons – Vonals (Tzadik)
Upon The Altar/DeathEpoch – Split (Putrid Cult)
Vanda – Covenant Of Death (Majestic Mountain)
Various Artists – The Retaliators – Original Soundtrack (Better Noise)
Vathr – Dead & United EP (Edged Circle)
Virtual Symmetry – Virtual Symmetry (Sensory)
Vivisektio – Uusi Normaali (Svart)
Vlad In Tears – Porpora (Metalville)
Weeping Wound – idontbelonghere EP (Blood Blast)
White Hills – The Revenge Of Heads On Fire (Heads On Fire)
Wolfheart – King Of The North (Napalm)
Wyrms – Sarkhral Lumænor – La lueur contre les fléaux (Purity Through Fire)
Zatemno – In Hell (Heidens Hart)

Check out more upcoming releases HERE.

More on Knotfest…

Stay in the know – join Knotfest for relevant news, exclusive content, interviews, and more.

Upgrade to Knotfest Premium for early ticket access to the biggest shows, in studio footage from Slipknot, exclusive performances, 10% off merch and much more!

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.