Progressive Death Metal Newcomers Kallias Reveal Spooky New Single "Lungta II: Everlasting" - Knotfest

Progressive Death Metal Newcomers Kallias Reveal Spooky New Single “Lungta II: Everlasting”

Posted by Corinne Westbrook in News on July 27, 2023

The track previews the band’s forthcoming full length ‘First Ascent’ which includes special guest appearances from members of Nevermore, Arch Enemy, Allegaeon and more.

Progressive death metal newcomers Kallias have shared a new single and video for “Lungta II: Everlasting”, taken from their upcoming album First Ascent due out August 25th. Jazz influenced, the technical side shines through on Kallias’ new brand of progressive death metal. Carving out their own path in the genre, the quartet creates a far-reaching soundscape that transcends death metal tropes and breathes new life into the genre.

“We’re thrilled to showcase our more progressive elements in this new single, such as the use of Chris’ upright bass and a very special throat singing section by Alex Novick,” the band shares. “Overall, “Lungta II: Everlasting” is not only a departure from ‘First Ascent’, but takes a direction we hope to accomplish with the next record.”

“The music video resembles the physical and mental journey of climbing in the Himalayas. ‘Lungta’, meaning ‘Wind Horse’, resembles the prayer flags that bring goodwill, with red specifically resembling fire. We best used our imagination to bring to life the inward battle one must face when taking such journeys. We hope you enjoy the visuals and look forward to the release of ‘First Ascent’ to follow.”

Formerly an instrumental act, Kallias added a dynamic range of vocals from guitarist Nicole Papastavrou and bassist Chris Marrone. In 2022, Colin Cook joined the fray on guitar, bringing with him a heavily jazz influenced structure.

First Ascent features exciting guest spots from notable metallers Jeff Loomis, Greg Burgess and more! The album was recorded at Redshift Recording and Cinderella Man Studios, produced by Zaki Ali, and mixed and mastered by Zack Ohren.

First Ascent Tracklisting:

  1. The Approach
  2. Irrational Fear Ft. Jeff Loomis
  3. Disembodied Existence
  4. Matter Eater Ft. Colin Cook
  5. The Dark Machine
  6. 21 Grams Ft. Rafael Trujillo
  7. Nine In Time Ft. Greg Burgess
  8. Lungta I: The Path
  9. Lungta II: Everlasting

Celebrating the albums release, the band will do a short, west-coast tour starting on August 25th, supporting Cyborg Octopus. Tickets are available HERE.

Kallias U.S. Tour Dates (Supporting Cyborg Octopus):
08/25: Fullerton, CA @ Programme
08/26: San Diego, CA @ Til Two Club
08/27: Cupertino, CA @ XBar
08/29: Las Vegas, NV @ The Griffin
08/30: Fresno, CA @ Destructive Warehouse

More on Knotfest…


Upgrade to Knotfest Premium for early ticket access to the biggest shows, in studio footage from Slipknot, exclusive performances, 10% off merch and much more!

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.