Tom Morello to release companion installment of The Atlas Underground next month - Knotfest

Tom Morello to release companion installment of The Atlas Underground next month

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on November 17, 2021

The songwriter and rock’s voice of reason channel The Clash with loads of collaboration on the next edition of his Atlas Underground series.

Just last month, cultural ambassador and rock music icon Tom Morello delivered the second edition of his Atlas Underground series with the Fire installment of the LP collection.

The album followed the 2018 introduction of the series which showcased Morello’s unique collaborative ability, featuring cuts with an eclectic range of cohorts from Big Boi of Outkast, Killer Mike of Run the Jewels, Steve Aoki, K. Flay, The GZA and Rza of Wu-Tang Clan, Tim McIIrath of Rise Against, and Gary Clark Jr. to name a few.

The 2021 revival of the project again flexed Morello’s versatility and reach as a pillar of culture as The Atlas Underground Fire boasted collaborative efforts ranging from the Bring Me the Horizon-assisted “Let’s Get the Party Started” to the AC/DC tribute in a cover of “Highway to Hell” flanked by rock royalty in Bruce Springsteen and Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam, to the resounding show of solidarity with grandson in “Hold the Line”.

Completing the trilogy, though framed as the companion album to ‘Fire,’ The Atlas Underground Flood is set to arrive December 3rd and again touts a tracklist that defies category. Among the first offerings from the album include previews in the trifecta of tracks, “Human” featuring Barns Courtney, “Hard Times” featuring Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones and Chipotle Joe and lastly, “Raising Hell” featuring Ben Harper.

Discussing his prolific run in dropping two albums in the span of two months, Morello shared, “The Atlas Underground Flood finishes what The Atlas Underground Fire started,” explains the songwriter. ​“Fire and Flood are my London Calling. Admiring The Clash at their apex moment, I sought to make a double-album where artistic intent supersedes genre. I aimed to forge a central curated vision to tie together a sonically fearless, wild, and wide-ranging musical ambition with a tremendous cast of collaborators.”

Morello adds, “And of course, there are many guitar solos.” 

The Atlas Underground Flood drops December 3rd via Mom + Pop and can be pre-ordered – HERE

The Atlas Underground Flood Tracklist
1. A Radical in the Family (feat. San Holo)
2. Human (feat. Barns Courtney)
3. Hard Times (feat. Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones, and Chipotle Joe)
4. You’ll Get Yours (feat. X Ambassadors)
5. I Have Seen the Way (feat. Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett, and Dr. Fresch)
6. The Lost Cause (feat. Manchester Orchestra)
7. The Maze (feat. Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness)
8. Ride At Dawn (feat. BreakCode)
9. Raising Hell (feat. Ben Harper)
10. The Bachelor (feat. IDLES)
11. Parallels (feat. Jim James)
12. Warrior Spirit (feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)

Our website uses cookies and similar technologies to make the site work and improve your user experience. By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies.