Underoath shares sprawling new seven-minute single, "Pneumonia" - Knotfest

Underoath shares sprawling new seven-minute single, “Pneumonia”

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on September 22, 2021

The highly-personal track is partly inspired by the passing of guitarist Tim McTague’s father.

The third single from Undferoath’s forthcoming seventh full-length, Voyeurist, has arrived and is being shared on the one year anniversary of it’s creative inception. The band began writing what would becoming “Pneumonia” exact one year ago today. It was also the day that guitarist Tim McTague’s father passed away after an arduous two-year battle with cancer.

The emotionally loaded track clocks in an a sprawling seven minutes and explores a broad spectrum of sentiment in it’s ethereal melody to it’s inevitable towering crescendo. Simply put, “Pneumonia” is a progressive masterclass inspired by real-life weight that results in a commanding mesh of contrasts – from the ominous guitars, the steady percussion, and the collision of Aaron Gillespie’s soaring vocals to Spencer Chamberlain’s cathartic screams – this is Underoath at their most dynamic.

McTague explained the genesis of the song and it’s organic development. “We started writing the song, randomly, on the anniversary of my dad’s death, and to release it exactly a year from that day is wild. I was in a funk and wanted to make something sad but felt drained. The song ended up becoming an audible journey of death and is called ‘Pneumonia’ because that is what was listed on my dad’s death certificate. It’s also the only song in the history of the band that Spencer and Aaron sat someone down and asked them (me) to help write some of the lyrics, which was truly an honor.” 

“Pneumonia” follows previous singles from Voyeurist in “Damn Excuses” and “Hallelujah,” both of which have been regarded as a glowing return to form. Combining the band’s penchant for relentless musical release and a dynamic sense of songwriting that has been refined in over the course of their two decade long tenure, Voyeurist reasserts Underoath’s unwavering relevance in the landscape of alternative music. The self-produced, self-recorded effort shines as a example of the band’s continued evolution and willingness to push even their own creative boundaries.

Voyeurist arrives January 14th via Fearless Records. The album is available in various formats and can be pre-ordered – HERE. Stream the visualizer for “Pneumonia” below.

Voyeurist Tracklist
1. Damn Excuses
2. Hallelujah
3. I’m Pretty Sure I’m Out of Luck and Have No Friends
4. Cycle ft. Ghostemane
5. Thorn
6. (No Oasis)
7. Take A Breath
8. We’re All Gonna Die
9. Numb
10. Pneumonia