Staind announce two-part global streaming event to celebrate the release of their first album in 9 years

Posted by Ramon Gonzales in News on March 30, 2021

‘LIve: It’s Been Awhile’ captures the band’s triumphant, never-before-seen 2019 homecoming show at the Foxwoods Resort Casino in Mashantucket, CT after a five year hiatus.

Radio mainstay and multi-platinum rock band Staind have announced their first album in more than 9 years with Live: It’s Been Awhile.

The 15-track effort was recorded back in 2019 and preserved the live power of Staind’s return to the stage after a five year stretch of inactivity. The never-before-seen event was a hometown affair for the band, recorded live at Foxwoods Resort Casino in Mashantucket, CT.

“These were the first grouping of shows we played together in 2019, when we were gearing up for what was to be a very busy 2020…that never happened,” says STAIND vocalist and guitarist, Aaron Lewis. “I’m glad we captured that energy here and can share it with those who couldn’t be at Foxwoods.”

To commemorate not only the release of the live album, but also the 20th anniversary to the day, of the release of the band’s seminal Break The Cycle LP, Staind has announced The Return Of Staind: A Two Part Global Streaming Series in partnership with live music authority Danny Wimmer Presents.  The two-part event will feature Live: It’s Been Awhile from Foxwoods on May 1st, followed by a performance in full of the multi-platinum album Break The Cycle from Mill 1 in Open Square in Holyoke, Massachusetts.

“Our first show together in 1995 was at a now defunct bar called the Waterfront in Holyoke,” explained Lewis. “We played mostly covers, because that’s what you had to do back then. Turns out The Waterfront is two miles from where we did this. Here we are, two miles down the road, 26 years later, celebrating the anniversary of the album that helped us break though 20 years ago and altered our lives forever.”

Both nights of the streaming two-parter for The Return of Staind will begin broadcasting at 2:00 PM PDT / 5:00 PM EDT / 10:00 PM BST / 11:00 PM CEST on May 1st and May 8th. Tickets, VIP upgrades, merch bundles and more are all available – HERE

The live rendition of Staind’s enduring “It’s Been Awhile” from Foxwoods is available to stream below. The official trailer for The Return Of Staind: A Two Part Global Streaming Series is also available to view below. Live: It’s Been Awhile from Staind arrives May 7th via May 7 via Yap’em / Alchemy Recordings. Pre-order the album – HERE

Live: It’s Been Awhile track listing:
 
Eyes Wide Open (Live)
Paper Jesus (Live)
Not Again (Live)
Fade (Live) 
For You (Live)
Something (Live)
Intro (Live)
Crawl (Live)
Right Here (Live)
Outside (Live)
Paper Wings (Live) 
So Far Away (Live)
Raw (Live)
It’s Been Awhile (Live)
Mudshovel (Live)


Knotfest