Dimmu Borgir Confirm First-Ever Covers Album, 'Inspiratio Profanus'

Dimmu Borgir Confirm First-Ever Covers Album, 'Inspiratio Profanus'

- By Ramon Gonzales

The compilation of tracks includes covers of Bathory, Celtic Frost, Deep Purple, Accept, Twisted Sister and the Venom classic, "Black Metal".

Approaching some three decades as pillars of extreme music, Dimmu Borgir last released a studio effort five years ago with 2018's Eonian. Resurfacing, the Norwegian legends have announced a career-first with the news of their ambitious cover album, Inspiratio Profanus. 

Showcasing their pedigree of creative influences, Dimmu has compiled a collection of 8 various cover renditions, all referencing influences that have left a lasting effect on the extreme music stalwarts. 

Among the artists revisited by Dimmu Borgir on the album include the likes of Bathory, Celtic Frost, Twisted Sister, Accept, G.G.F.H., and the album's introduction the genre-defining "Black Metal" from Venom. 

Dimmu Borgir guitarist Silenoz explained, "We’re pleased to announce the Inspiratio Profanus release! We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we’ve done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!" 

Silenoz specified why the iconic Venom track was such a fitting introduction. "Black Metal, the track and its origin, features something really primeval, raw and unhinged. There is lawlessness and danger connected to it. We did our best to capture the spirit of the ancient gods’ rock ’n roll 24 years later. Did we do it justice? I think so."

Inspiratio Profanus arrives December 8th via Nuclear Blast Records. Order the album - HERE


Inspiratio Profanus
1. Black Metal (Venom)
2. Satan My Master (Bathory)
3. Dead Men Don't Rape (G.G.F.H.)
4. Nocturnal Fear (Celtic Frost)
5. Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister)
6. Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
7. Metal Heart (Accept)
8. Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed)  (Celtic Frost)

Back to blog
1 of 3