Job For A Cowboy Confirm First New Album In A Decade, 'Moon Healer'

Job For A Cowboy Confirm First New Album In A Decade, 'Moon Healer'

- By Ramon Gonzales

Stream the second single in a decade with the pummeling, "The Forever Rot".

Earlier this summer, Job For A Cowboy broke their decade-long hibernation with the release of "The Agony Seeping Storm", a colossal track that reiterated the band's unmatched signature of precision and pummel. The track came with the promise of new music to come and now, the full scope of the band's return has come into focus. 

The band has confirmed February 23rd, 2024 as the arrival date for their first full length studio album since 2014's Sun Eater. Featuring the reconfigured line up of frontman and co-founder Jonny Davy, guitarists Tony Sannicandro and Al Glassman, bassist Nick Schendzielos, and drummer the most recent addition of drummer Navene Koperweis, Job For A Cowboy will return at full force with Moon Healer early next year. 

Kicking off the band's return campaign, Job For A Cowboy have released a second offering from their latest cycle with the equally brutal "The Forever Rot". Underscoring the band's prowess and expertise in musical extremity, the second single suggests the band is back and more bolstered than ever. 

Davy explained of the latest preview, "The song 'The Forever Rot' touches on their beliefs that human evolution and development have somehow led to the restriction of perceiving otherworldly or inter-dimensional realities and religious entities. It delves into their disconnection from the physical world and the notion that true vitality may be found in the ability to self-destruct and recreate. That some of the drugs they consumed opened these realities that evolution has closed the door on."

Speaking of the continuity of the album and the conceptual vision overall, Jonny Davy shared, "I envision this as a death metal album born from the mystical confines of an alchemist's laboratory. The music acts as potent potions, inducing hallucinogenic journeys that unlock the secrets of the universe."

Further elaborating on the extended time away, Davy revealed why the band went dormant and how circumstances aligned for the band's return. "I had to take a step back in the band for family. It was the catalyst that eventually created a fork in the road for all of us. We all drifted into our separate paths," cofided Davy.

"Fatherhood, additional music projects, academic degrees, and careers outside the band took priority and life's focus," so the band agreed on a prolonged hiatus, but with the door open for a return. "Everything lined up for us to collaborate on a new project together; it was time to cross the threshold for something new."

As for the direction of the new album, Davy shared the band's creative headspace. "On Moon Healer, we explore a concept centered around a close friend who embarked on a relentless quest for profound enlightenment through the incessant abuse of hallucinogenic drugs, leading to a severe disconnection from reality due to the toll it took on their mental health."

Moon Healer from Job For A Cowboy lands February 23rd of next year via Metal Blade Records. Order the album - HERE 


Moon Healer Track Listing:
1. Beyond the Chemical Doorway
2. Etched in Oblivion
3. Grinding Wheels of Ophanim
4. The Sun Gave Me Ashes so I Sought Out the Moon
5. Into the Crystalline Crypts
6. A Sorrow-Filled Moon
7. The Agony Seeping Storm
8. The Forever Rot

Back to blog
1 of 3