New Flesh 6/2: Releases From Avenged Sevenfold, Foo Fighters, Rancid and More!

New Flesh 6/2: Releases From Avenged Sevenfold, Foo Fighters, Rancid and More!

- By Corinne Westbrook

A massive week in rock music includes several highly-anticipated releases and a few unexpected essentials.

This week’s releases include new albums from three legends, chaotic methcore, striking melodic black metal, and a solid dose of melodic death metal. For all of our favorite new releases, both singles and albums, be sure to check out the official Knotfest New Flesh playlist.

Avenged Sevenfold – Life Is But A Dream - Alternative Metal

Avenged Sevenfold is back after a seven-year hiatus with one of their most creative works to date. Dipping their toes into industrial, thrash, instrumental piano, hardcore, country, soul, disco, jazz and everything in-between. Expect the unexpected with this piece of musical art.

Get your copy HERE.

Dieth – To Hell And Back - Death Thrash

Deith is a one-two punch of thrash and death metal. The groove-fest produced by the trio of David Ellefson, guitarist and vocalist Guilherme Miranda and drummer Michał Łysejko, has strong moments of crowd pleasing scream-alongs, seething darkness, experimental bass interludes, and welcome surprise psych-tinged riffs.

Get your copy HERE.

Foo Fighters – But Here We Are - Hard Rock

But Here We Are is the very root of the word heavy. Foo Fighters formed in the wake of tragedy, and this record shows them once again coping with loss and trauma. After the unexpected loss of drummer Taylor Hawkins, and Dave Grohl suffering the loss of his mother only a few months later, this album is understandably sorrowful. However, it is also quite a formidable record, catchy and vibrant. It is one that processes death through the lens of hope.

Get your copy HERE.

Necrofier – Burning Shadows In The Southern Night - Black Metal

Melodic black metal affront Necrofier have hit their stride with their sophomore effort. Doubling down on what made their debut great, but exploring new realms make this an exciting listen. Hypnotic beats, dark atmospheres and captivating melodies pervade as you explore the subliminal evil that permeates all cultures and religions.

Get your copy HERE.

Omnium Gatherum – Slasher EP - Melodic Death Metal

Massive sweeping soundscapes, low growls, enthralling cleans and polished melodies - what more could us melodeath fans want? Omnium Gatherum is both multilayered and direct, with uplifting synths, no skimping on the bass, and a solid cover of “Maniac” for those of you who feel the need to dump water over your heads and dance/mosh.

Get your copy HERE.

Pupil Slicer – Blossom - Mathcore

Pupil Slicer has returned more polished, more defined, but just as chaotic and savage as ever. Exploring more melodic moments, while retaining the anarchic roots they are known for, Blossom is an exhilarating roller coaster of sound. Pupil Slicer are becoming masters of controlled chaos, where they can both cut loose and remain restrained depending on the moment.

Get your copy HERE.

Rancid – Tomorrow Never Comes - Punk

It’s always an event when punk fixtures Rancid put out something new. Big, bold, and bouncy, Tomorrow Never Comes is an absolute punk rock bash. No fat, no filler, Rancid once again shows why they are punk rock legends. As they celebrate 30 years from their self-titled debut, Rancid marries catchiness and pure singalong vibe with all the angst of the past three decades.

Get your copy HERE.

Also out this week…

Anubis Gate – Interference (Animated Insanity)
Aran Agmar – Atavism & Dying Stars (Hellstain)
Atlases – Between The Day & I (Lifeforce)
Autrest – Follow The Cold Path (Northern Silence)
Autumn Nostalgie/Hænesy – Awakening Mechanon Split (Purity Through Fire/Northern Silence)
Barrel – Unanticipated Confessions Of Love EP (Self)
Blåådpalt – Caedite Eos EP (Inverse)
Body Stuff – Body Stuff 4 (The Chain)
Bongzilla – Dab City (Heavy Psych Sounds)
Buckcherry – Vol. 10 (Round Hill)
Buggin – Concrete Cowboys (Flatspot)
Cadaver Carnivore – Devouring Eclipse Of Darkest Realm (Heretic Impalement)
Chip & The Charge Ups – What Happened To The Boy Next Door? (Self)
Cold Irons Bound – No Place I Can’t Find You (Golden Robot)
Corpsessed – Skeletal Grotesquery (Krucyator)
Cosmic Burial – Far Away From Home (Purity Through Fire)
Death Dies – Stregoneria (Time To Kill)
Demented Heart – Frantic Epidemic (Brutal Mind)
DiGelsomina – Sic Itur Ad Astra (Self)
Dog Tired – The Red Verse (Self)
DREP – Drastically Reducing Earth’s Populaion (Nomad Snakepit)
Einar Solberg – 16 (InsideOut)
Fjoergyn – Judasmesse (Trollzorn)
Forced Hand – War EP (Self)
Gloryhammer – Return To The Kingdom Of Fife (Napalm)
Graveworm – Killing Innocence (AFM)
Halflighted – Obloquy (Wormholedeath)
Hard-Ons – Ripper 23 (Golden Robot)
Hellwitch – Annihilational Intercention (Listenable)
Hemplifier – The Stoner Side Of The Doom (Electric Valley)
Heruvim – Battle For Cimmeria EP (Redefining Darkness)
Hills Like White Lions – Meander (Self)
Infernäl Mäjesty – None Shall Live (In Rotterdam) (Nomad Snakepit)
Ironborn – After The Flood (Self)
The Ironfist – Tyrant’s Return (Sliptrick)
Karbholz – Kapitel 10: Wilde Augen (Metalville)
King Of The Dead – Perdition EP (Self)
Klidas – No Harmony (Bird’s Robe)
Konigsor – Death Process EP (Silent Pendulum)
The Kryptik – A Journey To The Darkest Kingdom (Purity Through Fire)
Kvad – So Old (Purity Through Fire)
Laniidae – Episodes I-V EP (Self)
Lars Fredrik Froislie – Fire Fortellinger (Karisma)
Leathürbitch – Shattered Vanity (Shadow Kingdom)
Man As Plague – Titanomachy (Self)
The Mansters – Lessons In Giving Up (Loyal Blood)
Minas Morgul – Nebelung (Trollzorn)
OK Goodnight – The Fox And The Bird (Self)
Order Of Decay – Mortification Rites (Sentient Ruin)
Order Of Nosferat/Lunar Spells – Shadowrealm Incantations Split (Purity Through Fire/Northern Silence)
Owls & Eagles – Patience Vol. 1 (Moments)
Peace Of Mind – Life Long Tragedy EP (Farewell)
Primordial Doom – Doom Rising (Self)
Prydain – The Gates Of Aramore (Limb)
Red Cain – Nae’Bliss (Self)
Risin Sabotage – Macabre (Interstellar Smoke)
Rival Sons – Darkfighter (Low Country Sound/Atlantic)
Saint Karloff – Paleolithic War Crimes (Majestic Mountain)
Sapremia – Subconscious Existence (Awakening)
Scarnival – The Hell Within (Kernkraftritter)
Snake Oil – Snake Oil (Lions Pride)
Suffocate Faster – This Is The Way Vol. 1 (Smartpunk)
Thantifaxath – Hive Mind Narcosis (Dark Descent)
Thunraz – Revelation (Planetary King)
Thus – Inhale The Ash (Self)
Tigercub – The Perfume Of Decay (Loosegroove)
To Descend – Mindless Birth EP (HPGD)
Tombstalker – Age Of Darkness EP (Boris)
Tortured Demon – Rise Of The Lifeless (Self)
Unfurl – Ascension (Self)
Weep – Life In Shades Of Grey (Liminal Dread)
Writing The Future – Caught Between Heaven & Hell (Self)
Wytch Hazel – IV: Sacrament (Bad Omen)

More on Knotfest...

Stay in the know – join Knotfest for relevant news, exclusive content, interviews, and more.

Upgrade to Knotfest Premium for early ticket access to the biggest shows, in studio footage from Slipknot, exclusive performances, 10% off merch and much more!

Back to blog
1 of 3