One Step Closer Announce New Album With Fitting First Single, "Leap Years"

One Step Closer Announce New Album With Fitting First Single, "Leap Years"

- By Ramon Gonzales

Watch the new music video co-directed by the band and Derek Rathburn.

Photo by Spencer Chamberlain 

Wilkes-Barre melodic hardcore collective One Step Closer has appropriately picked February 29th to announce their sophomore full length album, All You Embrace. The album lands May 17th via Run for Cover Records and included some creative input and oversight from the likes of Isaac Hale of Knocked Loose and Mat Kerekes of Citizen.

Marking the first release since the band's 2023 Songs for the Willow EP, One Step Closer have shared the lead single from their pending full length, "Leap Years" on a day that only surfaces once ever four years - marking an actual leap year. 

Working with director Derek Rathburn, the band asserted their DIY prowess and took on a co-directorial role for the accompanying music video which rings especially personal for the band. 

 Vocalist Ryan Savitski spoke about the progression of the band and how that resulted in their best foot forward on this album. “I wanted to showcase One Step Closer in its fullest state. Every single part of the band, I wanted it to be there. I wanted us to be 100% ourselves and be as authentic to our band as we could possibly be.”

Further elaborating on the narrative of the record and the kind of growing pains the band has endured since the success of their 2021 LP, This Place You Know, Savitski confided, “I don’t feel like a kid anymore. There’s been so much change since the last record—losing members, losing relationships, losing friends, touring a lot, seeing your friends and family less—and this record captures all the changes in our lives since then.”

Along with the news of the latest album, One Step Closer is set to begin a North American co-headlining tour with Koyo and Anxious this week. Later this spring, the band will be heading to the UK for an appearance at Slam Dunk Festival. 

All You Embrace arrives May 17th on Run For Cover Records. Order the album - HERE

1. Color You
2. Leap Years
3. Blur My Memory
4. The Gate
5. Your Hazel Tree
6. Orange Leaf
7. Esruc
8. Slow to Let Go
9. Topanga
10. Giant's Despair
11. So Far From Me


Back to blog
1 of 3