New Music Roundup: Playlist Adds 2.19.21

- By Chris Hudson

Gojira gets the headlines, but this week is packed with a diverse blend of aggressive tracks from Death Blooms, '68, Andrew W.K., Chino Moreno, Denzel Curry and more

The long awaited return of Gojira highlights this week's Tribe Leaders (Top 50 tracks) playlist adds. Their first song since last year's "Another World" came with the announcement of their first album in five years titled, 'Fortitude' which drops April 30th.

Additionally Chevelle adds their third track in the Top 50 as they continue to barrel towards March 5th and the release of ‘NIRATIAS'. Previously they released "Peach" and “Self Destructor” in this album cycle, both still sit on the playlist.

With four tracks currently in the top 50, including their latest "Meteor", Architects continue to dominate. Their album, 'For Those That Wish to Exist' spearhead next week's releases. Check Craig Reynolds' interview with Sam Carter on the Downbeat.

While She Sleeps leads the artists with two on the list with both "SLEEPS SOCIETY" and last week's release "YOU ARE ALL YOU NEED" - both off the album, 'The Sleeps Society' coming April 16th. Beez brought on Mat Welsh to Mosh Talks to chat the new album, one which he calls it "that monster album" Beez has been waiting for from the band. Watch the full interview below.


Additionally System of a Down, Of Mice & Men, Lamb of God (including their newest "Ghost Shaped People" from their upcoming deluxe edition), Deftones, ERRA, Rob Zombie and Tetrarch all have two tracks in the Top 50.

Still at top though is Bring Me the Horizon's collab with Babymetal.

Stream the full Tribe Leaders Playlist

A familiar face leads the movement of emerging artists in this week's Pulse of the Maggots adds.

Death Blooms, who you last saw perform at KNOTFEST's Pulse of the Maggots Festival, are back in a fierce as fuck way on "Fuck Everything". The band builds off last year's singles "Life is Pain" and the brutal smash "Anger". Check out the sit down with them and watch their full Pulse Fest performance below.


This week brought a heavy dose of Knotfest Premieres including Kissing Candice "Raise Her", Above Snakes "I Feel Bad" and today's premiere of "Voices" from Octopus Montage.

In tandem with his exclusive interview with KNOTFEST, N8NOFACE's "Y So Serio" hits the playlist. In the chat, he digs into his confrontation with addiction all while asserting his artistry on his latest, 'Bound To Let You Down'.

Photo by Valerie Jocelyn Bower

A three headed hardcore destructive animal rips through the playlist with the newest from Australia's Void of Vision with Ecca Vandal, Denmark's Ghost Iris featuring Mark Hunter & Daze of June (also of Denmark fame) feat. Keisuke Numata. Daze of June's "Hiroshima" stands in representation of the band's album drop of 'Tainted Blood' today - also featuring past Pulse playlist track "Four Knives".

'68 throws down probably the most charismatic rock track of the week in the foot stomping rompus that is "Bad Bite". The hand clapper clamps down just hard enough to really let it sail into a can't miss track. In much the same vein, the latest from Dead Poet Society, ".getawayfortheweekend." continues their impressive aggressive alternative build towards their debut album, '-!-' which hits March 12th.".intoodeep." still carries danger as a ripping earworm months later.

Normandie is back with "Thrown in the Gutter" on their album release day, following up the success of "Hostage" (still on the playlist). 'Dark & Beautiful Secrets' culminates the Swedish group's latest rousing effort.

DREGG, Writing the Future, Annalynn, BAEST, Harakiri for the Sky and Blackbriar round out the rest of this week's adds which join Zonezero, Patient Sixty-Seven, VCTMS, Brand of Sacrifice, Kamiyada +, Gatecreeper and more already on the playlist.

Listen to the full Pulse of the Maggots Playlist

Trippie Redd's venture into rock with Chino Moreno, Andrew W.K.'s latest epic, Eyehategod, The Crown, Papa Roach continuing their revists to classics, Hail the Sun, Myles Kennedy, Genghis Tron and Denzel Curry bring home the rest of this week's adds on New Flesh.

Trippe Redd enlists Deftones' Chino Moreno for "GERONIMO", a track that definitely elicits a chilled out vibey Deftones feel. Redd's latest album 'Neon Shark Vs. Pegasus' (released today) had a hard focus in transitioning to a fuller rock sound. The album, produced by Travis Barker, will also see appearances from aggro-trap spitter Scarlxrd, Zillakami of City Morgue, and Machine Gun Kelly among others.

Andrew W.K. shows us that he's never done partying on "Babalon". Papa Roach adds Asking Alexandria's Danny Worsnop on their hit "Broken As Me" continuing a trend of revisiting their hits, as they did three weeks ago with Jeris Johnson on "Last Resort (Reloaded)".

Myles Kennedy's guitar exposition performance shines on "In Stride", his first solo track in three years since 'Year of the Tiger'. Earlier Kennedy sat down with Ryan J Downey for an episode of The Disc Dive for a full in-depth discussion on all of his albums, solo and otherwise.


Genghis Tron's second single “Ritual Circle” follows up "Dream Weapon" reestablishing the band after a 13 year hiatus and proving they still have intricate surprises to share.

These, plus the adds from the other two playlists fill out a diverse playlist with major hitters, new acts and everything in between featuring the newest from Butcher Babies (the industrial arena chanting banger), Lacey Sturm, Crossfaith, Greta Van Fleet, Cult of Luna, Hyro the Hero and more.

Stay up to date with the latest on the New Flesh Playlist

Cover Photo - @jamiekaufmanphoto

Latest Stories on KNOTFEST.com

Back to blog
1 of 3